11/16/2012 05:50 pm ET Updated Jan 16, 2013

10 Universities To Form Semester Online Consortium

Starting next fall, 10 prominent universities, including Duke, the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill and Northwestern, will form a consortium called Semester Online, offering about 30 online courses to both their students -- for whom the classes will be covered by their regular tuition -- and to students elsewhere who would have to apply and be accepted and pay tuition of more than $4,000 a course.