02/07/2013 08:53 pm ET

2013 NBA Slam Dunk Contest: James White, Kenneth Faried, Eric Bledsoe Among Field (VIDEO)

The participants in the 2013 NBA Slam Dunk Contest are cleared for takeoff.

Eric Bledsoe (Clippers), Kenneth Faried (Nuggets) and Jeremy Evans (Jazz) are representing the Western Conference while Gerald Green (Indiana), Terrence Ross (Toronto) and James White (Knicks) will be slamming on behalf of the East. Defending his 2012 crown, Evans joins Green (2007) as the two previous winners in the field.

Although household names like LeBron James continue to shun the dunk contest (despite the urgings of other household names), the selection of White offers hope that fans will get a better show than last year when Matt Moore of declared "the dunk contest is dead." Dubbed "the NBA's secret dunk hero" by Jared Zwerling of, "Flight" White has been renowned for his dunk prowess since his high school days (when he battled David Lee in the 2001 McDonald's High School dunk contest) but never found regular run in the NBA. Not only has he thrown down a two-handed dunk from the free throw line but he's passed the ball between his legs on another dunk with that long-distance launching point.

To get you ready for the upcoming dunk contest, here are some of the fiercest flushes from the field of 2013

2013 NBA Dunk Contest Competitors

Courtesy of The Associated Press, here is a full list of 2013 participants as well as the rundown of previous winners:

Feb. 16 at Houston
Western Conference
Player, TeamPosHtWgt
Eric Bledsoe, L.A. ClippersG6-1195
Jeremy Evans, UtahF6-9194
Kenneth Fareid, DenverF6-8228
Eastern Conference
Player, TeamPosHtWgt
Gerald Green, IndianaF6-8210
Terrence Ross, TorontoF6-6195
James White, New YorkG-F6-7215



2012_Jeremy Evans, Utah

2011_Blake Griffin, L.A. Clippers

2010_Nate Robinson, New York

2009_Nate Robinson, New York

2008_Dwight Howard, Orlando

2007_Gerald Green, Boston

2006_Nate Robinson, New York

2005_Josh Smith, Atlanta

2004_Fred Jones, Indiana

2003_Jason Richardson, Golden State

2002_Jason Richardson, Golden State

2001_Desmond Mason, Seattle

2000_Vince Carter, Toronto

1999_No competition

1998_No competition

1997_Kobe Bryant, L.A. Lakers

1996_Brent Barry, L.A. Clippers

1995_Harold Miner, Miami

1994_Isaiah Rider, Minnesota

1993_Harold Miner, Miami

1992_Cedric Ceballos, Phoenix

1991_Dee Brown, Boston

1990_Dominique Wilkins, Atlanta

1989_Kenny Walker, New York

1988_Michael Jordan, Chicago

1987_Michael Jordan, Chicago

1986_Spud Webb, Atlanta

1985_Dominique Wilkins, Atlanta

1984_Larry Nance, Phoenix