03/20/2013 04:10 pm ET

2013 RAMMY Nominees Announced: 16 Awards Will Be Handed Out June 23

Brandon Wetherbee

WASHINGTON -- The nominations for the 31st annual RAMMY Restaurant Awards Gala -- known as the "Oscars Of D.C. Restaurants" -- were announced Tuesday night.

The Restaurant Association of Metropolitan Washington recognizes excellence in 16 categories.

2013 RAMMY Finalists

Fine Dining Restaurant of the Year
The Ashby Inn & Restaurant
Blue Duck Tavern
The Bombay Club

Upscale Casual Restaurant of the Year
Birch and Barley
Cork Wine Bar
Jaleo - Penn Quarter
KAZ Sushi Bistro

Casual Restaurant of the Year
Bar Pilar
Bayou Bakery
C. F. Folks
Nando's Peri-Peri
Pete's New Haven Style Apizza

Neighborhood Gathering Place of the Year
Ardeo + Bardeo
Evening Star Café
Nellie's Sports Bar
Willow Restaurant

New Restaurant of the Year
DGS Delicatessen
Fuego Cocina y Tequileria
Mintwood Place
Rasika West End

Chef of the Year
Tony Conte - The Oval Room
Haidar Karoum - Estadio/Proof
Tarver King - The Ashby Inn and Restaurant
Cedric Maupillier - Mintwood Place
Fabio Trabocchi - Fiola

Rising Culinary Star of the Year
Scot Harlan - Green Pig Bistro
Tim Ma - Maple Avenue Restaurant
Marjorie Meek-Bradley - Ripple
John Melfi - Blue Duck Tavern
Nathan Shapiro - The Ashby Inn and Restaurant

Pastry Chef of the Year
Beverly Bates - Vidalia
Peter Brett - Blue Duck Tavern
Alison Reed - Ripple
Susan Wallace - BlackSalt Fish Market & Restaurant
Tom Wellings - Fiola

Wine Program of the Year
The Ashby Inn and Restaurant

Beverage/Mixology Program of the Year
Birch & Barley/Churchkey
Bourbon Steak
EatGoodFood Group
Room 11

Power Spot of the Year
The Bombay Club
Johnny's Half Shell
P. J. Clarke's
The Source by Wolfgang Puck

Hottest Restaurant Bar Scene of the Year
Bar Pilar
Fuego Cocina y Tequileria
Hank's Oyster Bar - Capitol Hill
Jack Rose Dining Saloon

Manager of the Year
Joseph Cerione - Blue Duck Tavern
Justin Guthrie - Estadio
Alex Muñoz - Hill Country Barbecue Market
Michael Nevarez - Vidalia/Bistro Bis/Woodward Table
Tyes Zolman - Black Restaurant Group

Employee of the Year
Helene Jones - Poste Moderne Brasserie
Lauren Lowe - DC Coast
Luis Noriega - Zengo
Ali Schemeck - Chef Geoff's, New Mexico Ave.
Elizabeth Zelaya - Fiola

Restaurateur of the Year
José Andrés & Rob Wilder - THINKFoodGROUP
Meshelle & Cathal Armstrong - EatGoodFood Group
Michael Babin - Neighborhood Restaurant Group
Ashok Bajaj - Knightsbridge Restaurant Group
Drew Kim, Mark Neal and Ty Neal - Matchbox Food Group

Associate Member of the Year
Acme Paper & Supply Co.
SYSCO Food Services of Baltimore
Marriott Wardman Park Hotel

Most of the awards will be chosen by two panels of judges comprised of food and restaurant writers, educators and HR professionals. Three of the awards, Neighborhood Gathering Place, Hottest Restaurant Bar Scene and Power Spot of the Year, will be voted on by the public on the Restaurant Association of Metropolitan Washington website.

RAMMY awards will be handed out on Sunday, June 23 at the Marriott Wardman Park Hotel. Tickets for the event are currently on sale.

The nominees for New Restaurant of the Year, Boqueria, DGS Delicatessen, Fuego Cocina y Tequileria, Mintwood Place and Rasika West End served tasting portions of some of their best dishes for a crowd of tastemakers, journalists and restaurant industry insiders at The Hamilton.

RAMMYS Nominations