09/24/2013 09:21 am ET

TLC New Song And Greatest-Hits Album Set To Premiere In October Alongside VH1 Biopic


TLC has spent the past several months getting back into the groove, and now T-Boz and Chilli are prepping new music and a greatest-hits album.

A new song titled "Meant To Be," written by Ne-Yo, will accompany the greatest-hits compilation, which is slated to hit stores Oct. 15. The fresh track will play a part in the forthcoming TLC biopic that premieres Oct. 21 on VH1.

"20," the new album, marks the group's second international greatest-hits project. "Now and Forever: The Hits" was released in 2003, slightly more than a year after Lisa "Left Eye" Lopes' untimely death. A second compilation, "Crazy Sexy Hits: The Very Best of TLC," arrived in 2007 but was only released in the U.K.

The tracklist for "20" is similar to that for "Now and Forever," except perhaps more discerning. "20" boasts 13 previous hits, plus "Meant To Be," whereas "Forever" comprised a total of 20 tracks. An Epic Records press release from July indicated the new album would feature four fresh songs, but the tracklist unveiled this week only includes one.

There's no word yet on whether "Meant To Be" will serve as the lead single from TLC's upcoming album of new material, reportedly set for a 2014 release. In the meantime, TLC appears on J. Cole's "Crooked Smile." The gals recently recorded a new version of "Waterfalls" for their 20th anniversary, with Japanese pop star Namie Amuro substituting for Left Eye, and they performed at the Mixtape Festival in July (sans Left Eye hologram, thankfully). T-Boz was also the star of a four-episode docuseries called "Totally T-Boz" that aired, conveniently enough, on TLC at the start of the year.

Check out the tracklist for "20":
1. "Ain't 2 Proud Beg"
2. "What About Your Friends"
3. "Baby, Baby, Baby"
4. "Hat 2 Da Back"
5. "Creep"
6. "Waterfalls"
7. "Red Light Special"
8. "Diggin' on You"
9. "Kick Your Game"
10. "No Scrubs"
11. "Unpretty"
12. "Silly Ho"
13. "Damaged"
14. "Meant to Be"