Susan Marriott
President, BioScience Writers

Susan Marriott, PhD is the President of BioScience Writers and a Professor of Molecular Virology and Microbiology at Baylor College of Medicine (Houston, TX). Dr. Marriott holds a Ph.D. degree in Microbiology from Kansas State University, and a B.S. degree from Iowa State University. She spent four years as a post-doctoral fellow at the National Institutes of Health in Bethesda, MD, and she is an alumnus the Goldman Sachs 10,000 Small Businesses Program. In 2001 Dr. Marriott, co-founded BioScience Writers, a company that specializes in revising, editing, and writing biomedical research documents. Dr. Marriott has cultivated a strong group of staff and editors that serve an international clientele of over 3000 individuals, public and private academic institutions and biotechnology companies. Over the last five years, BioScience Writers has edited more than 11,000 grants and manuscripts for clients in 50 countries. As the President of BioScience Writers, Dr. Marriott also developed technical writing workshops designed for science professionals, which have been presented successfully around the world.

Dr. Marriott joined Baylor College of Medicine in 1991 where she is currently a Professor and manages an active research lab studying molecular mechanisms that regulate cellular proliferation and transformation in response to viral infection. She has authored successful research proposals funded by the National Institutes of Health, National Science Foundation, and American Cancer Society. She has published over 60 book chapters and original scientific reports, and has spoken at many national and international research conferences in Japan, South Korea, Australia, Chile, Great Britain, France, Ireland, Scotland, Italy, Jamaica and Canada.

Dr. Marriott has served on the editorial board of research journals including Virology Journal, Frontiers in Bioscience, and Retrovirology, and has consulted as a grant reviewer for the National Institutes of Health, National Science Foundation, Veterans Administration, Ohio Cancer Research Associates, Israel Science Foundation, Association for International Cancer Research, United States-Israel Binational Science Foundation, Health Research Board of Ireland, McLaughlin Fellowship Fund, German-Israeli Foundation for Scientific Research and Development, and the Louisiana State Research Grant Program.