12/31/2013 04:03 pm ET Updated Mar 02, 2014

Which University Will Win the International Programming Championship?

The top Computer Science Universities will put forth their top students in an eight-hour intensive programming competition that will determine which school has the top students. Welcome to the Windward International Collegiate Programming Championship (Code War). Students at schools from Stanford to CMU to MIT participate, making this truly a competition of the best of the best.

What's a Code War?

Each team is composed of 1 - 5 students (schools can enter as many teams as they wish, one school last year entered 21 teams). All the teams are given the same problem at 10:00am and have until 6:00pm to turn in their solution. All teams participate at their own school and the 10-6 is local time, Saturday Feb 1. The 8 hours, local time zones and holding it at each school make it easy for students to fit it into their schedules.

The program is an eight player game where each team writes an AI for the game. The competition then has eight of the entries run in the game with the winner determined by the point score their AI gained in the game. No judges, no opinions, no evaluations - just the points earned in the game play.

If you're a student, the code war is one of the most intense and enjoyable events - ever. Many students have told us it was their best time at school. And the problem is freshmen-friendly, the second place team last year was 5 freshmen from the University of Maryland. If your school is registered, you can sign up your team here.

If you're a school, strong participation in the code war provides great recognition. The winning schools say that win has brought them better & more applicants in subsequent years. And this contest has a much higher percentage of female participants than most hackathons, which over time will bring more women into C.S. You can sign up your school here.

You can find out which school/team won on Sunday Feb 2 at 11:00 a.m. Colorado time. That's just before the second biggest competition of that day -- the Super Bowl.

Previously participating schools:
  • Boston University
  • Brown University
  • Carnegie Mellon University
  • College of William and Mary
  • Colorado College
  • Colorado School of Mines
  • Colorado State University
  • Columbia University
  • Computer Science Center - Saint Petersburg
  • Georgia Institute of Technology
  • Harvey Mudd College
  • Hendrix College
  • Indian Institute of Technology - Delhi
  • Massachusetts Institute of Technology
  • Michigan Tech
  • Penn State
  • Princeton University
  • Purdue University
  • Saint Petersburg State University
  • Stanford University
  • United States Military Academy
  • University of Alberta
  • University of California - San Diego
  • University of Central Florida
  • University of Chicago
  • University of Colorado
  • University of Illinois
  • University of Maryland
  • University of Massachusetts
  • University of Pennsylvania
  • University of Toronto
  • University of Victoria
  • University of Wisconsin