QUEER VOICES
06/11/2017 05:38 pm ET

Here Are Some Of The Best Signs From The Equality And Resist Marches

💪🏼 😂 ❤️

Queer Americans are pissed... but they’re also hilarious.

That’s one of the take aways from the Equality March, which drew thousands of participants with their wry commentary to Washington D.C. on Sunday, and the Resist March, simultaneously taking place in Los Angeles, along with up to 60 other sister marches around the country.

David Bruinooge, the 42-year-old Brooklyn resident who conceptualized the Equality March, told the Washington Blade he was inspired to create a Facebook page after watching the Women’s March on Washington.

The Equality March’s intended purpose, according to its website, is “mobilizing LGBTQ+ communities, our loved ones and our allies – with particular focus on those who have been actively silenced and neglected – in the fight to affirm and protect our rights, our safety and our full humanity.”

Similar priorities were set for Los Angeles’ Resist March, which this year replaced the city’s annual Pride parade in order to draw attention to and rally against the stark social and political forces that currently threaten the queer community, particularly President Donald Trump and his administration.

Below are our favorite signs from Sunday’s marches.

A post shared by Buck (@buckdenton) on

A post shared by Michelinski (@itsthebravo5) on

A post shared by Michelle Arce (@msmichellearce) on

A post shared by Chase Person (@cha.say) on

A post shared by Mareike Finck (@mareikefinck) on

A post shared by Adam Casteel (@_adsjc) on

A post shared by Julia Winokur (@juleswinokur) on

A post shared by Wayne Keith (@waynekeith76) on

A post shared by Paul Tuller (@paperescapade) on

A post shared by kim jones 🦊 (@foxyjonesie) on

A post shared by Cyrus James (@jamesgoles) on

A post shared by Hayley Smith (@pixie_nose) on

A post shared by Laurel Vail (@laurelvail) on

A post shared by Pansy ♎️ (@coeurdehors) on

A post shared by andybradpitts (@andybradpitts) on

A post shared by tojow (@tojow) on

A post shared by Adam Harden (@adamwham) on

A post shared by Chase Person (@cha.say) on

A post shared by Mikey #altfactkelly (@mch463) on

A post shared by Devin Spahn (@devinspahn) on

A post shared by Leah (@lea_saurus) on

A post shared by TheOnlyMe (@whirlingpervish) on

A post shared by John S-C 🌞 (@stendetarian) on

A post shared by Robin Myers (@robinlynn917) on

A post shared by Tom Grabarek (@harmofwill76) on

A post shared by Ian L. (@bearleft) on

A post shared by Angel Oh (@digital_pixie915) on

A post shared by Chris (@ownerofthepack) on

A post shared by Laura Black (@lulupixinc) on

A post shared by Jeffery King (@kingjeffers12) on

A post shared by Nick Dill (@nicholasjamesnyc) on

A post shared by Gino Gianneschi (@lilitalynyc) on

A post shared by Matthew Davie (@matthewdavie) on

A post shared by Steve Baird (@captainstevelove) on

A post shared by Carlos Muina (@cmuina) on

A post shared by Marc Kelly (@marckelly) on

A post shared by Audrey Tawa (@msguttersnipe) on

A post shared by Mara Caelin (@specialnighties) on

A post shared by T.J. Jourian (@tjjourian) on

A post shared by rené (@designrene) on

A post shared by @dreamngcity on

A post shared by Jay (@saintacoira) on

A post shared by Daniel Margolin (@usadaniel) on

A post shared by Benny Cartwright (@bennyc80) on

A post shared by Bolander (@rabidog) on

A post shared by Wilson Cruz (@wcruz73) on

A post shared by Mrs. S (@thedutchamericana) on

A post shared by @kittybodhi on

A post shared by Victoria (@rapidcreativity) on

A post shared by Jaime (@wojo4hitz) on

A post shared by Adam Neff (@neffdaddy22) on

A post shared by Todd Alsup (@toddalsup) on

A post shared by JP Bonadonna (@jpbonadonna) on

A post shared by Da Ping Luo (@dapingluo) on

A post shared by Sean Cone (@seananarama) on

A post shared by Jaime (@wojo4hitz) on

A post shared by rvvsf (@rvvsf) on

A post shared by @politico_trash on

A post shared by Andrew Novak (@indyj02) on

A post shared by Amber Smith (@ambersmithauthor) on

A post shared by markjoseph1 (@markjoseph1) on

HuffPost

BEFORE YOU GO

CONVERSATIONS