10/06/2014 02:59 pm ET Updated Dec 06, 2014

A-Sides with Jon Chattman: Kill Hannah's Mat Devine Unleashes His Inner Wrongchilde

The press release (or pitch rather) for Wrongchilde's debut album Gold Blooded started out by saying it sounds "like a John Hughes soundtrack for Donnie Darko." Well, you had me at John Hughes. The spot-on (and awesome) opening lines for the solo debut by Kill Hannah front man Mat Devine (he opted to go as Wrongchilde versus using his real name) sucked me right in, and the music followed shortly thereafter. The album is a well-rounded dark pop rock record that features cameos from Alain Whyte of Morrissey, Gerard Way of My Chemical Romance and Morgan Kibby from M83/White Sea. Speaking of Kibby, she lends her talents on a cover of "Love is a Battlefield" from yet another '80s legend: Pat Benatar. The classic song, which features a lot of shoulder-shrug-infused dance moves in its vintage music video, has never felt more haunting. Anyway, Wrongchilde, who also consists of Camille Driscoll, Jeffrey David Harvey, Aaron Miller, and Neil Popkin dropped by the Primary Wave Music Listening Room in New York City to perform a track and chat at length about it. Watch below (thanks to Yale Goodman for filming), listen to the album, and then revisit your Hughes catalog stat.

As announced Oct. 1, A-Sides is in the midst of its own "challenge" to the viral masses - a la ALS Ice Bucket Challenge. Since October is Breast Cancer Awareness Month, A-Sides' Sing Away Cancer Challenge is asking musicians and all walks of life to create a short video of themselves singing any popular song's chorus but with anti-cancer and/or cure-geared inspiring lyrics. All I ask is for you to donate to a cancer-related charity of your choice, tag your video "#singawaycancer" and denote on your donation somewhere "sing away cancer." It's so important to know if this would-be viral campaign will work, and it's so not important if you can carry a tune or not. There are so many worth causes to donate to.

Oct. 1 Announcement

A-Sides "Delve Into Twelve" Countdown
Each week A-Sides unleashes its Top 12 tracks of the week AKA the "Delve Into Twelve"based on the following contributing factors: songs I'm playing out that particular week NO MATTER WHEN THEY WERE RELEASED (think overlooked songs, unreleased tracks, and old favorites), songs various publicists are trying to get me to listen to that I did and dug a bunch, posts and trends I've noticed on my friends' Facebook walls, and -- most importantly -- the songs my two-year-old son gravitates toward by stomping his feet in approval. Yeah, you read that right. This weeks follows below (LW= last week's rank).

Week of Sept. 29
12. "Oblivion" (debut) - Bastille
11. "My My" (retro cut) - Seven Mary Three
10. "How Can You Really" (LW-7) - Foxygen
9. "So Now What" (LW-6) - The Shins
8. "Home" (debut) - Dotan
7. "Cigarette Daydreams" (debut) - Cage the Elephant
6. "Last Forever" (LW-3) - Fenech-Soler
5. "Kathleen" (LW-8) - Catfish and the Bottlemen
4. "Inside Out" (LW-5) - Spoon
3. "Geronimo" (LW-4) - Sheppard
2. "Boom Clap" (LW-1) - Charli XCX
1. "Beggin For Thread" (LW-2) - Banks


About A-Sides Music

Jon Chattman's "A-Sides Music" series was established in August 2011 and usually features artists (established or not) from all genres performing a track, and discussing what it means to them. This informal series focuses on the artist making art in a low-threatening, extremely informal (sometimes humorous) way. No bells, no whistles -- just the music performed in a random, low-key setting followed by an unrehearsed chat. In an industry where everything often gets overblown and over manufactured, I'm hoping this is refreshing. Artists have included: fun, Courtney Love, Air Supply, Birdy, Sleigh Bells, Aretha Franklin, Alice Cooper, Rob Zombie, Echosmith, Charli XCX, Pharrell Williams, American Authors, Imagine Dragons, Gary Clark Jr., and more! A-Sides theme written and performed by Blondfire.