05/25/2010 01:08 am ET Updated May 25, 2011

Del Bosque Puts Out His Final List for South Africa

Spain's coach Vicente del Bosque is very low-key by nature. That is why his press conference on Thursday was more about the players than about his decision.

Although the 23-man roster looks to be one of the most solid going to South Africa, there were doses of controversy in certain circles of the Spanish press.

If one begins to look at the roster, well over a third of the club come from two-time reigning champs Barcelona. Eight of the players come from the blaugrana, including new signing David Villa.

In addition to Villa, Spain will count with seven forwards: future teammate Pedro, former teammates Juan Mata and David Silva as well as Fernando Llorente, Fernando Torres, and surprise call-up Jesús Navas. The Sevilla man got the nod over Fenerbache striker and former Pichichi Dani Güiza where he scored 18 goals in 46 matches.

Zamora trophy winner Victor Valdés saw his dream of going to South Africa come true as Del Bosque made him, on paper, his third goalkeeper. Valdés was the Spanish goalkeeper with the least amount of goals conceded as Barcelona was en route to win their 20th league title.

Another big absentee will be Marcos Senna. The Villarreal midfielder will not take part in the World Cup although he was fundamental in La Furia's run to the Euro2008 title when it took place in Switzerland.

The Spanish national team will begin practicing on May 23rd and will have three friendly matches against the United Arab Emirates, South Korea, and Austria before their Group H debut against Switzerland in Durban on June 16th.

Spain list

Iker Casillas (Real Madrid), Pepe Reina (Liverpool/ ENG), Víctor Valdés (Barcelona)

Raúl Albiol (Real Madrid), Alvaro Arbeloa (Real Madrid), Joan Capdevila (Villarreal), Carlos Marchena (Valencia), Gerard Piqué (Barcelona), Carles Puyol (Barcelona), Sergio Ramos (Real Madrid)


Xabi Alonso (Real Madrid), Sergio Busquets (Barcelona), Cesc Fábregas (Arsenal/ENG), Andrés Iniesta (Barcelona), Javi Martínez (Athletic Club), Xavi Hernández (Barcelona)

David Silva (Valencia), Jesús Navas (Sevilla), Juan Mata (Valencia), Pedro Rodríguez (Barcelona),
Fernando Llorente (Athletic Club), Fernando Torres (Liverpool/ENG), David Villa (Valencia).