TECH
06/08/2011 09:47 am ET | Updated Aug 08, 2011

How To Disable Facebook's New Facial Recognition Feature

Facebook has rolled out a new feature that relies on facial recognition technology to automatically identify users in photos posted to the site and recommend people that others can tag in these images.

The feature, which was already live in the U.S., is now being launched in "most countries," according to Facebook, and has led privacy advocates to chastise the social network.

Not comfortable with the feature? Here's a step-by-step guide to how users can disable the facial recognition feature.

Go to "Account settings" and once there, go to "Privacy settings"

Click "Customize settings."

Go to "Things others share."

There, look for the option "Suggest photos of me to friends. When photos look like me, suggest my name" option, and click "Edit settings." Turn the feature from "Enabled" to "Disabled" and you're done.

Facebook explains the feature further in a blog post here.