Huffpost Green

Lunar Eclipse Tonight: How To Watch The Total Eclipse On June 15, 2011 (PHOTOS)

Posted: Updated:

The first total lunar eclipse of 2011 is set to put on a spectacle for much of the world tonight, being the longest in nearly 11 years. But just because it isn't visible from North America, doesn't mean you won't be able to watch the lunar eclipse too.

(CLICK HERE for photos of the June 2011 lunar eclipse.)

According to the AP, the moment of totality -- when the Earth's shadow completely blocks the moon -- will last 1 hour and 40 minutes during tonight's lunar eclipse. The last time a lunar eclipse lasted as long was in July 2000, when totality occurred for just 7 minutes longer.

According to, the lunar eclipse will begin about 1:24 p.m. EDT (1724 GMT) and finish around 7 p.m. EDT (2300 GMT). The lunar eclipse will peak at 4:12 p.m. EDT (2012 GMT).

The entire lunar eclipse will be visible from the eastern half of Africa, the Middle East, Central Asia and western Australia, a NASA expert told the AFP. Europe will miss the beginning of the lunar eclipse because it will be below the horizon, but totality can be witnessed from across the continent except for northern Scotland and northern Scandinavia. Totality will also be visible from eastern Brazil, Uruguay and Argentina. Eastern Asia, eastern Australia and New Zealand will miss the end of the lunar eclipse because the moon will have already set in those areas.

Despite not being visible from North America, anyone unable to see the lunar eclipse in their own sky can watch online. Sky Watchers Association Of North Bengal (SWAN) will be a doing a live webcast of the entire lunar eclipse.

According to the AP, the next total lunar eclipse will happen on December 10, though only certain parts of the U.S. including Hawaii and the Pacific Northwest will be able to see. For the rest of the U.S, the next total lunar eclipse won't be visible until April 15, 2014.

Check out some stunning photos of past lunar eclipses below.

Lunar Eclipses
Share this
Current Slide

Suggest a correction

Around the Web

Total Lunar Eclipse Monday Night - News

Lunar eclipse coincides with winter solstice

Lunar Eclipse to Take Place December 21 - ABC News

Volcano ash could turn Australia eclipse blood red

How LRO Plans to Watch the Lunar Eclipse from the Moon

New SkySafari 3 App Free for Lunar Eclipse

Asteroid Vesta in View Ahead of Lunar Eclipse

Snana Purnima: Special rituals for lunar eclipse

The eclipse saga

Namibia: Full Lunar Eclipse Over Country Tonight

From Our Partners