Huffpost Sports

U.S. Open Chair Umpire Hit By Ball During Simona Halep-Li Na Match (VIDEO)

Posted: Updated:

Being a chair umpire at a tennis match seems like a pretty sweet job on the surface: You get an awesome view of world class tennis. You sit in the shade. You get to have your voice projected into a microphone between every point.

But upon closer inspection, it isn't such a cushy gig. Not only do you have to deal with meltdowns from millionaires who believe you misjudged how a ball bounced by a fraction of a centimeter, but you also apparently get hit by said ball from time to time.

Yesterday during a U.S. Open match between Simona Halep and Li Na, the chair umpire took an errant ball right to her side as she was looking away causing a tremendous thump on the microphone.

There's no word on whether Halep, who hit the ball, argued the umpire's call that it was out of play.

Hat tip to Busted Racquet!

WATCH VIDEO AT THE TOP

Around the Web

Simona Halep upsets Li Na, US Open left without 2011 Grand Slam ...

French Open champion Li Na upset in first round of US Open by ...

Halep defeats Li Na at US Open - Yahoo!7 News

2011 U.S. Open -- Li Na loses in first round while Caroline ...

Li Na upset at U.S. Open - The Globe and Mail

Down Goes Li Na!

Djokovic, Nadal, Serena advance, Li Na out in US Open

From Our Partners