Huffpost Politics

Obama Campaign Names National Co-Chairs

Posted: Updated:

WASHINGTON — President Barack Obama's re-election campaign has named 35 national co-chairs, including elected officials, campaign volunteers and a few celebrities.

Among the Democratic politicians serving as co-chairs are Massachusetts Gov. Deval Patrick and Illinois Sen. Dick Durbin. Rhode Island Gov. Lincoln Chafee, a Republican-turned-Independent, will also serve as a co-chair.

The campaign also named actress Eva Longoria and former White House staffer Kalpen Modi, better known as the actor Kal Penn, as co-chairs. Five campaign volunteers from key battleground states have also gained the title of co-chair.

The list also includes Obama's two former White House chiefs of staff: Bill Daley, who left the administration earlier this year, and Rahm Emanuel, who now serves as Chicago mayor.

The campaign says the co-chairs will advise the campaign on key issues and help mobilize voters across the country.

Around the Web

Obama campaign names national co-chairs, including elected officials ...

Obama Campaign Set for Political Fallout From Gasoline Prices

Shifting focus, Obama campaign targets Santorum on economy

Deval Patrick to serve as co-chair in Barack Obama campaign

Obama campaign recruits youth vote, volunteers

Obama donations fall short of 2008

Obama taps Virginian to be campaign co-chair