Some of the best lessons are learned outside of the classroom.

Twenty-eight U.S. college presidents are teaching on a global scale as they sign on to The President's Pledge Against Global Poverty. The pledge is a public commitment from current and former college presidents to donate 5 percent of their own salary to fight global poverty both nationally and internationally to organizations of their choice.

Ann M. Svennungsen, the former president of Texas Lutheran University, came up with the idea after conversation with colleagues in higher education.

"Why do these presidents make this pledge publicly?" Svennungsen wrote on the website. "To raise awareness that ending extreme poverty is within our reach, to galvanize the collective will to end suffering caused by severe poverty, and to inspire greater giving to organizations that are doing efficient and effective work."

Is your college president on the list? See which presidents have committed below!


Loading Slideshow...
  • MaryAnn Baenninger

    President of the College of Saint Benedict located in St. Joseph, Minn.

  • Linda Bevilacqua

    President of Barry University located in Miami Shores, Fla.

  • Joanne Burrows

    President of Clarke University located in Dubuque, Iowa.

  • Gaylen J. Byker

    President of Calvin College located in Grand Rapids, Mich.

  • Nancy Cantor

    Chancellor of Syracuse University located in Syracuse, N.Y.

  • Michael J. Garanzini

    President of Loyola University located in Chicago, Ill.

  • Tori Haring-Smith

    President of Washington & Jefferson College in Washington, Penn.

  • Walter Harrison

    President of the University of Hartford, located in Hartford, Conn.

  • Mark Heckler

    President of Valparaiso University located in Valparaiso, Ind. <em><strong>CORRECTION:</strong> An earlier version of this slide misnamed the university. </em>

  • Dennis H. Holtschneider

    President of DePaul University located in Chicago, Ill.

  • John J. Hurley

    President of Canisius College located in Buffalo, N.Y.

  • Nannerl O. Keohane

    President Emerita at Duke University and Wellesley College in Durham, N.C.

  • Steve LaNasa

    President of Donnelly College located in Kansas City, Kan.

  • James T. Laney

    President Emeritus of Emory University located in Atlanta, Ga.

  • Jane Dammen McAuliffe

    President of Bryn Mawr located in Bryn Mawr, Penn.

  • Margaret A. McKenna

    President Emerita of Lesley University located in Cambridge, Mass.

  • Mary J. Meehan

    President of Alverno College located in Milwaukee, Wisc.

  • Shirley A. Mullen

    President of Houghton College located in Houghton, N.Y.

  • Anne Munley

    President of Marywood College located in Scranton, Penn.

  • Christopher B. Nelson

    President of St. John's College located in Annapolis, Md.

  • Lynn Pasquerella

    President of Mount Holyoke College located in South Hadley, Mass.

  • Mary Reap

    President of Elms College located in Chicopee, Mass.

  • Kevin P. Reilly

    President of the University of Wisconsin located in Madison, Wisc.

  • George Rupp

    President Emeritus of Columbia and Rice Universities located in New York City, N.Y.

  • Kenneth Star

    President of Baylor University located in Waco, Texas.

  • Diane Steele

    President of the University of Saint Mary located in Leavenworth, Kan.

  • Ann M. Svennungsen

    Past president of Texas Lutheran University located in Seguin, Texas.

  • Christopher M. Thomforde

    President of Moravian College located in Bethlehem, Penn.