SCIENCE

'Supermoon' 2012 Pics And Tweets (LIVE UPDATES)

05/05/2012 07:00 pm ET | Updated May 06, 2012

It's Supermoon Saturday, and Twitter is abuzz with tweets and twitpics of our moon captured from nearly every angle.

What's all the commotion?

At 11:34 p.m. EDT, the moon will appear 14 percent bigger and 30 percent brighter than its smallest and dimmest form, as it approaches perigee, or the period where it is closest to Earth in orbit. The moon will then line up with the sun (making it a full moon) one minute later. For more information on the best place and time to see the supermoon, click here.

Some people will look at the moon tonight and think "What's the big deal?" But let's be honest—it's not about the moon being slightly bigger. This is about a great excuse for people all over the world to stop for a second, gaze upwards, and remember just how amazing life on this planet really is. When something as magnificent as the moon is there every night, it's easy to take it for granted and lose sight of its beauty.

So allow us to remind you. Below, we'll be updating the post with supermoon images and blurbs from all corners of the globe, as different regions experience it over time. Already we have seen the supermoon behind the Colosseum in Rome, along with twitpics from Turkey, India, the Philippines, Japan and more.

We invite you to share your images and experiences by tweeting us at @HuffPostScience, or sending them to us through the user-submitted slideshow link at the bottom of the post. You can also take part in the discussion on Facebook.

And to all the supermoon haters, we have this to say.

05/06/2012 1:56 AM EDT

Bryant Park, Lake Worth, Florida

05/06/2012 12:56 AM EDT

Spencer's Butte, Eugene, Oregon

05/06/2012 12:54 AM EDT

San Marcos, California

05/06/2012 12:49 AM EDT

West Los Angeles, California

05/06/2012 12:19 AM EDT

Plaza De Armas Cusco, Peru

05/06/2012 12:17 AM EDT

At DFW Airport, Texas

05/06/2012 12:13 AM EDT

Epcot, Disney World, Orlando, Florida

05/06/2012 12:09 AM EDT

Pre-moonrise Picnic, California

05/06/2012 12:07 AM EDT

Xalapa, Mexico

05/05/2012 11:57 PM EDT

Zoomed In, Indiana

","short_text":"

@HuffPostScience #Supermoon picture I took just after 11:35 p.m., eastern time, in Central Florida. Read More"},{"id":"40","created":"05/05/2012 11:42 PM EDT","title":"Supermoon In The Palm Of My Hand","tweet_link":"40_supermoon-in-the-palm-of-my-hand","entry_text":"

@HuffPostScience Suuuper Moon in the #PalmOfMyHand :)) twitter.com/mkayk1/status/…

— Mikaela M.(@mkayk1) May 6, 2012

","short_text":"

@HuffPostScience Suuuper Moon in the #PalmOfMyHand :)) Read More"},{"id":"39","created":"05/05/2012 11:40 PM EDT","title":"South Bend, Indiana","tweet_link":"39_south-bend-indiana","entry_text":"

@HuffPostScience South Bend, IN twitter.com/jerryryan69/st…

— Jerry Ryan (@jerryryan69) May 6, 2012

","short_text":"

@HuffPostScience South Bend, IN twitter.com/jerryryan69/st…Read More"},{"id":"38","created":"05/05/2012 11:33 PM EDT","title":"Pinching The Moon, Orange City, Florida","tweet_link":"38_pinching-the-moon-orange-city-florida","entry_text":"

@HuffPostScience #SuperMoon in Orange City. #PinchTheMoon twitter.com/xoxLauraMeliss…

— Laura Melissa (@xoxLauraMelissa) May 6, 2012

","short_text":"

@HuffPostScience #SuperMoon in Orange City. #PinchTheMoon...Read More"},{"id":"37","created":"05/05/2012 11:28 PM EDT","title":"Bright Orange Supermoon In Dallas","tweet_link":"37_bright-orange-supermoon-in-dallas","entry_text":"

#supermoon @huffpostscience Dallas! twitter.com/suzpeeps/statu…

— Suzanne Sanderson (@suzpeeps) May 6, 2012

","short_text":"

#supermoon @huffpostscience Dallas! Read More"},{"id":"36","created":"05/05/2012 11:17 PM EDT","title":"Early Supermoon In Orlando","tweet_link":"36_early-supermoon-in-orlando","entry_text":"

@huffpostscience Early SuperMoon in Orlando twitpic.com/9hv98f

— Pat Gribbin (@PatGribbin) May 6, 2012

","short_text":"

@huffpostscience Early SuperMoon in Orlando twitpic.com/9hv98f

— Pat Gribbin (@PatGribb...Read More"},{"id":"35","created":"05/05/2012 11:12 PM EDT","title":"Hubbard, Ohio","tweet_link":"35_hubbard-ohio","entry_text":"

@HuffPostScience My modest little picture from my modest little house in Hubbard, OH #supermoon twitter.com/leylajean/stat…

— Leyla Sartori (@leylajean) May 6, 2012

","short_text":"

@HuffPostScience My modest little picture from my modest little house in Hubbard, OH #supermoon Read More"},{"id":"34","created":"05/05/2012 11:01 PM EDT","title":"Near Tannehill State Park, Alabama","tweet_link":"34_near-tannehill-state-park-alabama","entry_text":"

Super Moon (4) from near Tannehill State Park #alwx #simpsonwhnt #supermoon twitter.com/MainStormTower…

— Jeff Drake (@MainStormTower) May 6, 2012

","short_text":"

Super Moon (4) from near Tannehill State Park #alwx #simpsonwhnt Read More"},{"id":"33","created":"05/05/2012 10:44 PM EDT","title":"Supermoon Over The Smokies","tweet_link":"33_supermoon-over-the-smokies","entry_text":"

RT @tonybalogna: #Supermoon over the Smokies, courtesy of @WBIR viewer Lisa Brogdon twitpic.com/9hut58

— Ed Quinn (@CataulaGaWX) May 6, 2012

","short_text":"

RT @tonybalogna: #Supermoon over the Smokies, courtesy of @WBIR viewer Lisa B...Read More"},{"id":"32","created":"05/05/2012 10:37 PM EDT","title":"Cap Diamant, Quebec City","tweet_link":"32_cap-diamant-quebec-city","entry_text":"

Shooting the #supermoon at Cap Diamont with my @Canon_Camera @HuffPostScience @HuffingtonPost twitter.com/LindaWriteNow/…

— Linda B. Condrillo (@LindaWriteNow) May 6, 2012

","short_text":"

Shooting the #supermoon at Cap Diamont with my @Canon_Camera @HuffPos...Read More"},{"id":"31","created":"05/05/2012 10:35 PM EDT","title":"Conroe, Texas","tweet_link":"31_conroe-texas","entry_text":"

Here's the #supermoon tonight at Conroe, Texas. @HuffPostScience twitter.com/leniiiin/statu…

— レモれiれ (@leniiiin) May 6, 2012

","short_text":"

Here's the #supermoon tonight at Conroe, Texas. @HuffPostScience Read More"},{"id":"30","created":"05/05/2012 10:25 PM EDT","title":"Saint Simons Island, Georgia","tweet_link":"30_saint-simons-island-georgia","entry_text":"

@HuffPostScience #supermoon over the high tide marsh on the east side of Saint Simons Island GA. Luminous! twitter.com/Ellenois/statu…

— Ellen Smith (@Ellenois) May 6, 2012

","short_text":"

@HuffPostScience #supermoon over the high tide marsh on the east side of Saint Simons Island GA. Luminous! Read More"},{"id":"29","created":"05/05/2012 10:23 PM EDT","title":"Myrtle Beach, South Carolina","tweet_link":"29_myrtle-beach-south-carolina","entry_text":"

@HuffPostScience here's a quick shot of the #supermoon from Myrtle Beach,SC twitter.com/RC_Art/status/…

— Richard Cobb (@RC_Art) May 6, 2012

","short_text":"

@HuffPostScience here's a quick shot of the #supermoon from Myrtle Beach,SC Read More"},{"id":"27","created":"05/05/2012 10:04 PM EDT","title":"Charleston, South Carolina","tweet_link":"27_charleston-south-carolina","entry_text":"

\"img_0401\"

","short_text":"

"},{"id":"26","created":"05/05/2012 10:02 PM EDT","title":"Eiffel Tower, Paris, France","tweet_link":"26_eiffel-tower-paris-france","entry_text":"

#SuperMoon tonight by the Eiffel Tower, Paris...just Wow! twitter.com/thedancelectri…

— Barbara Rogers (@thedancelectric) May 6, 2012

","short_text":"

#SuperMoon tonight by the Eiffel Tower, Paris...just Wow! Read More"},{"id":"25","created":"05/05/2012 10:00 PM EDT","title":"Brookline, Mass.","tweet_link":"25_brookline-mass","entry_text":"

\"supermoon\"

","short_text":"

"},{"id":"24","created":"05/05/2012 9:56 PM EDT","title":"Bailey Island, Maine","tweet_link":"24_bailey-island-maine","entry_text":"

\"supermoon\"

View of the Bailey Island Cribstone Bridge and the Super Moon. Photo taken by Marshall Gott of Brunswick, Maine

","short_text":"

View of the Bailey Island Cribstone Bridge and the Super Moon. Photo taken by Marshall Gott of Brunswick, Maine

"},{"id":"23","created":"05/05/2012 9:30 PM EDT","title":"Pink Supermoon, Toronto","tweet_link":"23_pink-supermoon-toronto","entry_text":"

Pretty awesome sight. #supermoon #toronto twitter.com/kellogs8m/stat…

— CMM (@kellogs8m) May 6, 2012

","short_text":"

Pretty awesome sight. #supermoon #toronto Read More"},{"id":"22","created":"05/05/2012 9:26 PM EDT","title":"Picture Perfect","tweet_link":"22_picture-perfect","entry_text":"

スーパームーンをキャッチしたワン! #supermoon twitpic.com/9hm61g

— ジョイプー(クリスタル花蓮) (@joypoodle) May 5, 2012

","short_text":"

スーパームーンをキャッチしたワン! #supermoon twitpic.com/9hm61g

&mdas...Read More"},{"id":"21","created":"05/05/2012 9:24 PM EDT","title":"Outside Of Flintstone, Maryland","tweet_link":"21_outside-of-flintstone-maryland","entry_text":"

@HuffPostScience Supermoon outside of Flintstone, Maryland #supermoon twitter.com/8Nate_the_Grea…

— Nathan Trail (@8Nate_the_Great) May 6, 2012

","short_text":"

@HuffPostScience Supermoon outside of Flintstone, Maryland #supermoon Read More"},{"id":"20","created":"05/05/2012 9:22 PM EDT","title":"Southern Maine Coast","tweet_link":"20_southern-maine-coast","entry_text":"

@jimcantore from southern #maine coast for anyone with clouds tonight #supermoon twitter.com/wheeliesmom/st…

— pj (@wheeliesmom) May 6, 2012

","short_text":"

@jimcantore from southern #maine coast for anyone with clouds tonight Read More"},{"id":"19","created":"05/05/2012 9:21 PM EDT","title":"Man And The Moon, Italy","tweet_link":"19_man-and-the-moon-italy","entry_text":"

#supermoon ? Yeah :-) Goodnight #lunainstagr.am/p/KRC32ON4XP/

— Noè RadioKissKiss IT (@noeofficial) May 6, 2012

","short_text":"

#supermoon ? Yeah :-) Goodnight #lunains...Read More"},{"id":"18","created":"05/05/2012 9:10 PM EDT","title":"A (Tiny) Supermoon, Mount Dora, Florida","tweet_link":"18_a-tiny-supermoon-mount-dora-florida","entry_text":"

@huffpostscience The Super Moon from Mount Dora, Fl #supermoon twitter.com/ThoseShavers/s…

— Mary Shaver (@ThoseShavers) May 6, 2012

","short_text":"

@huffpostscience The Super Moon from Mount Dora, Fl #supermoon Read More"},{"id":"17","created":"05/05/2012 8:55 PM EDT","title":"Reflections Over Galloway Dark Sky Park, Scotland","tweet_link":"17_reflections-over-galloway-dark-sky-park-scotland","entry_text":"

@HuffPostScience #supermoon reflections in Galloway Dark Sky Park #scotland twitter.com/derekbtimages/…

— derek beattie (@derekbtimages) May 6, 2012

","short_text":"

@HuffPostScience #supermoon reflections in Galloway Dark Sky Park Read More"},{"id":"16","created":"05/05/2012 8:54 PM EDT","title":"Over Salem Harbor, Salem, Massachusetts","tweet_link":"16_over-salem-harbor-salem-massachusetts","entry_text":"

@HuffPostScience #Supermoon over Salem Harbor, Salem, MA. twitter.com/nashsmom/statu…

— Nash's Mom (@nashsmom) May 6, 2012

","short_text":"

@HuffPostScience #Supermoon over Salem Harbor, Salem, MA. Read More"},{"id":"15","created":"05/05/2012 8:43 PM EDT","title":"Toronto, Ontario, Canada","tweet_link":"15_toronto-ontario-canada","entry_text":"

#supermoon yfrog.com/ocerskij

— Darryl George (@DFGeorge) May 6, 2012

","short_text":"

#supermoon yfrog.com/ocerskij

— Darryl George (@DFGeorge) Read More"},{"id":"14","created":"05/05/2012 8:37 PM EDT","title":"Castle Street, Wicklow, Ireland","tweet_link":"14_castle-street-wicklow-ireland","entry_text":"

@HuffPostScience castle street, bray, Wicklow #supermoon twitter.com/Bachexyz/statu…

— Gwynn Afrocentric (@Bachexyz) May 6, 2012

","short_text":"

@HuffPostScience castle street, bray, Wicklow #supermoon Read More"},{"id":"13","created":"05/05/2012 8:31 PM EDT","title":"Naguabo, Puerto Rico","tweet_link":"13_naguabo-puerto-rico","entry_text":"

@HuffPostScience Supermoon from Naguabo, Puerto Rico twitter.com/NellyEnidHD/st…

— Nelly Enid (@NellyEnidHD) May 6, 2012

","short_text":"

@HuffPostScience Supermoon from Naguabo, Puerto Rico twitter.com...Read More"},{"id":"12","created":"05/05/2012 8:20 PM EDT","title":"Phuket, Thailand","tweet_link":"12_phuket-thailand","entry_text":"

@huffpostscience #supermoon in #phuket #thailand twitter.com/mountaincatkin…

— Mountain Cat King (@mountaincatking) May 5, 2012

","short_text":"

@huffpostscience #supermoon in #phuket Read More"},{"id":"11","created":"05/05/2012 8:18 PM EDT","title":"St. Augustine, Florida","tweet_link":"11_st-augustine-florida","entry_text":"

@HuffPostScience @HuffingtonPost #supermoon St Augustine, FL 8:15 EST lockerz.com/s/206777837

— Kelly (@kellycrosb) May 6, 2012

","short_text":"

@HuffPostScience @HuffingtonPost #supermoon St Augustine, FL 8:...Read More"},{"id":"10","created":"05/05/2012 8:08 PM EDT","title":"Orange Supermoon In Japan","tweet_link":"10_orange-supermoon-in-japan","entry_text":"

@HuffPostScience #supermoon in japan twitter.com/kendaljade/sta…

— Kendal (@kendaljade) May 5, 2012

","short_text":"

@HuffPostScience #supermoon in japan Read More"},{"id":"9","created":"05/05/2012 7:37 PM EDT","title":"Over The Water, Sicily","tweet_link":"9_over-the-water-sicily","entry_text":"

@HuffPostScience supermoon dalla Sicilia twitter.com/lauramotta2010…

— laura motta (@lauramotta2010) May 5, 2012

","short_text":"

@HuffPostScience supermoon dalla Sicilia twitter.com/lauramot...Read More"},{"id":"8","created":"05/05/2012 7:29 PM EDT","title":"Overlooking Howth Head: Dublin, Ireland","tweet_link":"8_overlooking-howth-head-dublin-ireland","entry_text":"

@HuffPostScience an image of the #Supermoon in #Dublin #Ireland overlooking Howth Head yfrog.com/ocohxokzj

— Louise Denvir (@LouiseDenvir) May 5, 2012

","short_text":"

@HuffPostScience an image of the #Supermoon in #Dublin Read More"},{"id":"7","created":"05/05/2012 7:26 PM EDT","title":"Over The Shores Of The South Of Italy","tweet_link":"7_over-the-shores-of-the-south-of-italy","entry_text":"

#Supermoon in south of Italy @huffpostscience twitter.com/mrsannino/stat…

— MariaRosaria Sannino (@mrsannino) May 5, 2012

","short_text":"

#Supermoon in south of Italy @huffpostscience Read More"},{"id":"6","created":"05/05/2012 7:07 PM EDT","title":"Co. Wexford, Ireland","tweet_link":"6_co-wexford-ireland","entry_text":"

@HuffPostScience #SuperMoon over Co. Wexford, Ireland tonight (taken by husband!) twitter.com/moonslipper_/s…

— siobhan smith (@moonslipper_) May 5, 2012

","short_text":"

@HuffPostScience #SuperMoon over Co. Wexford, Ireland tonight (taken by husband!) Read More"},{"id":"5","created":"05/05/2012 6:59 PM EDT","title":"Through A Hole In The Clouds, Switzerland","tweet_link":"5_through-a-hole-in-the-clouds-switzerland","entry_text":"

@HuffPostScience Supermoon in Switzerland. Lucky shot through a hole in the clouds flic.kr/p/bEzE1u

— marcel (@theswiss) May 5, 2012

","short_text":"

@HuffPostScience Supermoon in Switzerland. Lucky shot through a hole in the clouds flic.kr/p/bEzE1uRead More"},{"id":"4","created":"05/05/2012 6:55 PM EDT","title":"Ahmedabad, India","tweet_link":"4_ahmedabad-india","entry_text":"

@HuffPostScience #Supermoon as visible right about now in #Ahmedabad, #India twitpic.com/9hqab2

— aDeSe (@aDeSe) May 5, 2012

","short_text":"

@HuffPostScience #Supermoon as visible right about now in #A...Read More"},{"id":"3","created":"05/05/2012 6:53 PM EDT","title":"Istanbul, Turkey","tweet_link":"3_istanbul-turkey","entry_text":"

#supermoon@HuffingtonPost @HuffPostScience twitter.com/AltugArsoy/sta…

— Altug Arsoy (@AltugArsoy) May 5, 2012

","short_text":"

#supermoon@HuffingtonPost @Hu...Read More"},{"id":"2","created":"05/05/2012 6:50 PM EDT","title":"Supermoon Over The Colosseum","tweet_link":"2_supermoon-over-the-colosseum","entry_text":"

@huffpostscience #supermoon #rome with colosseo #nofilter@ Colosseo instagr.am/p/KQmaN-yM1K/

— gillian(@gmcguireinrome) May 5, 2012

","short_text":"

@huffpostscience #supermoon #rome with colosseo Read More"}]

SUPERMOON GALLERY: SUBMIT YOUR OWN PHOTOS

Supermoon 2012
Suggest a correction
361 Comments

CONVERSATIONS