Just one team in Stanley Cup Final history has ever overcome a 3-0 series deficit to claim the ultimate hockey prize. In 1942, the Toronto Maple Leafs pulled off the trick. No one has done it since. Not only is digging out of a 3-0 hole a mathematical problem -- needing to win three games before an opponent wins one -- but it is usually accompanied by a talent deficit.

Despite trying valiantly, the New Jersey Devils could not overcome such a 3-0 disadvantage in the 2012 Stanley Cup Final, ultimately falling in to the Los Angeles Kings in six games. Of course, falling behind three games to none against the Kings puts the Devils in fine company. The eighth-seeded Kings dropped the Vancouver Canucks, St. Louis Blues and Phoenix Coyotes into similar holes before dispatching them.

With a record-setting 10-game road playoff streak (12 if you go back to last season), the Kings were a juggernaut in the 2012 Stanley Cup playoffs. When it was all said and done, they had reeled of 16 wins against just four losses and never trailed -- or were even tied -- once any series got under way.

Where does L.A.'s overpowering postseason performance rank among the most dominant runs in sports. How does the 2012 Kings' ran stack up against the Cincinnati's machine-like roll in 1976 or that of the 1983 Philadelphia 76ers.

Check out the slideshow below and vote on where this run ranks among some of the most impressive ever.

Loading Slideshow...
  • 1983 Philadelphia 76ers (12-1)

    The Sixers finished the regular season with a league-best 65-17 record. Philadelphia would go on to sweep New York, finish the Milwaukee series 4-1, and then sweep the Los Angeles Lakers to win the championship in the 1983 NBA Finals.

  • 1999 Duke University (9-0)

    All-American Christian Laettner lead Duke to its 2nd consecutive national championship as they became the first repeating championship team since 1973. Duke's achievement would not be accomplished again in college basketball for 15 years until the Florida Gators won it in 2006 and 2007.

  • 1972 Miami Dolphins (3-0)

    The Miami Dolphins may have won all 3 of their post-season playoff games, but what was more impressive was their collaborative 17-0 season as they dominated the NFL to become Super Bowl champions, and gave the league its first perfect season in league history. The feat is still unmatched today.

  • 1981 New York Islanders (15-3)

    Celebrating their 10th season as a franchise, the Islanders embarked on a torrid post-season run lead by Hall of Fame forward Mike Bossy. They would go on to win the Stanley Cup in five games against the Minnesota North Stars on their way to four consecutive championships.

  • 2001 Los Angeles Lakers (15-1)

    In the 2001, the Lakers dominated the playoffs before Philadelphia struck back with a Game 1 win in the NBA Finals. That didn't last long, however, as L.A. would go on to take the rest of the series from Philly to win the NBA title 4-1.

  • 1999 New York Yankees (11-1)

    Smack in the middle of three peat World Series championships was the most dominate of Yankees' post-season teams in 1999. The Bronx Bombers swept Texas in the first round before eliminating the rival Boston Red Sox 4-1 in the ALCS, and dominating the Braves with a 4-game sweep to win the World Series.

  • 2005 Chicago White Sox (11-1)

    The White Sox finally won their first World Series championship since 1917 in 2005. After winning the AL Central, the Sox swept Boston before dominating the Angels in a 4-1 series victory. Chicago ultimately swept the Astros in four games to win the World Series.

  • 1988 Edmonton Oilers (16-2)

    In what was once one of the most memorable hockey dynasties of all time, the Edmonton Oilers won 4 Stanley Cups within 1979 and 1988. With such stars as Wayne Gretzky and Mark Messier, the Oilers went 12-2 in the playoffs on their way to sweeping the Bruins in the Stanley Cup Finals.

  • 1976 Cincinnati Reds (7-0)

    The "Big Red Machine" was an unstoppable force in the 1976 MLB Playoffs as the Reds eyed their second consecutive World Series championship. The Reds swept Philadelphia in the NLCS before advancing to sweep the Yankees in four games.