Have Facebook users discovered a bug that exposes private correspondences between friends on the social networking site?

According to Metro France, non-public messages sent between 2007 and 2009 may be appearing publicly on some users Timelines.

France's Le Nouvel Observateur is also reporting that private correspondences from 2010, 2011 and 2012 are being affected, as well.

The exposed posts reportedly appear peppered throughout public posts on the timeline.

"There may be messages in Inbox or chat conversations on internal Facebook. These messages are found mixed comments from friends on the wall," writes Metro France (per Google Translate).

Both publications have provided a quick fix for the bug, telling users to edit the privacy options on individual posts by clicking the "pencil" icon that appears at the top right of posts. From the drop-down menu that appears, the user can choose to hide a particular post from the Timeline or delete the post altogether.

Le Huffington Post, the French-language Huffington Post, has provided a screengrab of a user timeline presumably showing private and public posts mixed together. Note the edit icon at the top right:

facebook bug

Fred Wolens of Facebook's Policy Communications team in the U.S. has told The Huffington Post that "no private information has been disclosed." Wolens also said that the posts appearing on users' walls are merely wall posts and not private messages or chats, as some outlets are reporting.

Meanwhile, an unnamed French rep for Facebook told Le Huffington Post that the bug exists and that a technical team is investigating. A rep in Spain told Spanish-language El Huffington Post that the company is looking into the problem.

Have you noticed that any of your old private messages are now appearing in your public Timeline? Let us know in the comments.

UPDATE 1: While we're also receiving reports from users in the United States and Canada who claim to have seen this privacy glitch, a Facebook rep told TechCrunch "[T]here has been no breach of user privacy."

From Facebook's statement to TechCrunch:

A small number of users raised concerns after what they mistakenly believed to be private messages appeared on their Timeline. Our engineers investigated these reports and found that the messages were older wall posts that had always been visible on the users’ profile pages.

UPDATE 2: If you're concerned about the privacy of your Timeline posts, you can temporarily make all posts on your profile visible to friends only (or just yourself). Just follow these steps: In the drop-down menu in the upper right-hand corner of your Facebook profile, select "Privacy Settings"; Scroll down to "Timeline and Tagging" and click "Edit settings"; from here, you can see if you've opted to make any of the posts on your Timeline "Public," and you can change the privacy settings for these types of posts so that only friends (or no one at all) can see them.

There's also an option on your "Privacy Settings" page that's titled "Limit the Audience for Past Posts." Clicking that option will make posts friends-only that had previously been either public or visible to friends of friends.

UPDATE 3: A Facebook rep also contacted CNET to deny the rumor that the Timeline was exposing private messages. "Every report we've seen, we've gone back and checked," the spokesperson to CNET. "We haven't seen one report that's been confirmed. A lot of the confusion is because before 2008 there were no likes and no comments on wall posts. People went back and forth with wall posts instead of having a conversation."

Also on HuffPost:

Loading Slideshow...
  • You Luv 'Call Me Maybe'

    Remember when you were having that <em>really bad</em> day and blasted Carly Rae Jepsen's "Call Me Maybe" 23 times on Spotfiy? Yeah... well, we witnessed that low moment via your Facebook profile's ticker, the real-time mini feed located in the upper right hand corner of Facebook pages. If you don't want to share your (possibly embarrassing) musical preferences with your Facebook friends, make sure to turn off the "Share to Facebook" button (at the top right of your Spotify desktop app).

  • You Can't Resist Clicking On Sketchy, Sexy Video Links

    Some Facebook apps, like Socialcam, are designed to make you click on content by using sleazy, eye-catching headlines. "Socialcam's 'trending' videos read like a bunch of crossovers between the 'American Pie' franchise and 'Jackass,'" <a href="http://www.washingtonpost.com/socialcams-so-sleazy-its-insightful/2012/06/05/gJQAor3FGV_story.html" target="_hplink">The Washington Post wrote</a> in June. If you're a SocialCam user, remember that the spam-like titles of videos you view automatically pop up on your profile, so your friends all might know when you've watched "CraZy ThReeSom!" or "Two Wasted Chicks" last week.

  • You Can't Get Enough Sideboob In Your News

    Glancing at a juicy article on how Miley Cyrus <a href="http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2012/05/22/miley-cyrus-side-boob-actress-sex-scenes-losing-virginity_n_1536026.html" target="_hplink">flashed some sideboob</a>? While this wouldn't phase some Facebook users, others would prefer not to have anything with the word "sideboob" published on their profiles or in friends' News Feeds. Facebook's social reader apps track the articles you read, and with permission you grant when first downloading the app, then post the stories automatically to your wall. So be wary of those scandalous headlines promising half-naked pictures.

  • How Old You Are

    Some people love getting birthday wishes via Facebook. But putting your your full date of birth on any social networking site means strangers are privy to information that can be used to steal your identity. If you want to keep your birthday up online, consider taking the safe route and nix the year.

  • You Went Out Boozin' Every Night Last Week

    Friends or apps can now tag your location via Facebook. But maybe you don't want everyone to know you're visiting that neighborhood dive bar for the fourth night this week. "There isn't a specific setting to block people from tagging you in a post that includes a location," <a href="https://www.facebook.com/help/location/privacy" target="_hplink">Facebook's site reads</a>. This means if you don't want your whereabouts known, you'll have to change your Timeline setting to approve all tags before they're posted, or manually remove the tags once they've been published.

  • You Are Addicted To Artsy Pics Of Beaches And Breakfast Food

    Photo-sharing app Instagram is relatively direct in telling you where your pictures are posted. But you might unknowingly be photo-spamming your friend's Facebook feeds by letting the app re-post every picture you "like" onto Facebook. And things could get a little dicey depending on <a href="http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2012/08/30/instagram-porn_n_1842761.html?utm_hp_ref=technology" target="_hplink">what types of images you view.</a> Luckily this feature is easy to change. Just go into the settings options on your Instagram app, click the "Share Settings" tab and turn off the setting that shares "Liked" photos to your Facebook timeline.

  • What Your Kids' Names Are

    Tagging or naming younger children on Facebook can be a dangerous move. Similar to putting your full birthday on the interent, you could be offering up too much information and enabling a breach of privacy. "If your child isn't on Facebook and someone includes his or her name in a caption, ask that person to remove the name," <a href="http://www.consumerreports.org/cro/magazine-archive/2010/june/electronics-computers/social-insecurity/7-things-to-stop-doing-on-facebook/index.htm" target="_hplink">Consumer Reports advises</a>.

FOLLOW TECH

From our partners