Huffpost Sports

Miroslav Klose Scores Goal With Hand: Lazio Player Admits Mistake, Goal Disallowed (VIDEO)

Posted: Updated:

Sportsmanship 1, Lazio 0.

German soccer star Miroslav Klose put the ball in the net off of a corner kick in the fourth minute to seemingly stake Lazio to an early 1-0 lead over Napoli. As his Lazio teammates celebrated, the Napoli players furiously argued that Klose had used his hand to punch the ball into the net.

They were right. He had. To the chagrin of his teammates, Klose actually admitted this to the official, who disallowed the goal.

The referee disallowed the goal and Napoli went on to win 3-0 thanks to Edison Cavani's hat trick.

Napoli defender Paolo Cannavaro talked about Klose's honesty after the match, telling Reuters that his "gesture deserves a prize."

The Guardian pointed out that this is not the first time a player in Serie A owned up to a hand ball, noting that Daniele De Rossi admitted that he scored for Roma with his hand in a 2006 match against Messina.


Somewhere, Diego Maradona likely disapproves.

Around the Web

Miroslav Klose scores with his hand, admits it to ref so the goal is disallowed

Grant Wahl: Holden update, Ballon d'Or pick, Sounders' fan vote, more Mailbag

Klose handball confession draws praise from FIFA boss Blatter

Football's most sporting players including Klose, Fowler, Vertonghen and more

Cavani hits hat-trick after Klose owns up to handball

Klose claims to have rejected Spurs

From Our Partners