SPORTS

Ruling On Danario Alexander Touchdown Doesn't Make Any Sense

11/19/2012 05:16 pm ET

We are trained now to know that a ball caught in the end zone must be maintained through the completion of the play to be ruled a touchdown, even after the receiver goes down to the ground. We've known this since Detroit receiver Calvin Johnson had a touchdown taken away against Chicago in 2010 even though it appeared to everyone that Johnson caught the ball and scored.

The rule seemed odd, but we learned to live with it and we haven't been as surprised when that rule has been invoked since then. But the rules should at least be enforced in a logical order, which is what makes Chargers receiver Danario Alexander's late touchdown against the Broncos so perplexing.

Read more on Yahoo Shutdown Corner

Suggest a correction
Comments

CONVERSATIONS