Huffpost Sports

SEC Championship Game: Auburn, Florida Among Conference Champs To Win BCS Title

Posted: Updated:

In recent years, the SEC Championship game has been a pit stop for teams on their way to the BCS title game. The last six SEC champs went on to play in the national championship game in January, five of those squads won that climactic BCS showdown. Since the birth of the BCS Championship Game in 1998, seven SEC teams have won it all.

Last season marked the first time in six years that the SEC champions didn't go on to win the BCS National title in January. Of course, that game still featured two teams from the SEC, Alabama and LSU. The Tigers survived a thrilling game against Georgia in the 2011 SEC Championship. The Bulldogs are back again in hopes of finishing the job.

Although the BCS hasn't given way to the anticipated playoff format just yet, this de facto semifinal gives us a glimpse. Will the Alabama-Georgia winner join the list of SEC title game champs to capture the BCS crown?

SEC Champions Who Won BCS Titles
Share this
Current Slide

Around the Web

SEC Championship Game 2012: Game Changers to Watch in ...

SEC Championship Live Blog: Alabama vs. Georgia

SEC Championship Game Holds Significant For Cincinnati Bengals Players

SEC Championship Game: Georgia coach Mark Richt has to seize the moment ...

AJ McCarron ready for SEC Championship Game, and could go to prom afterward

SEC Championship Game preview

SEC title game: Despite a year of change, familiar names still on top

From Our Partners