Huffpost Religion

Watch Sistine Chapel Chimney Smoke Online (LIVE STREAM)

Posted: Updated:

Visit for breaking news, world news, and news about the economy


As the 115 cardinal-electors of the Catholic Church are gathered in conclave, The Huffington Post is running a live stream of smoke appearances at the Sistine Chapel. If you're waiting as breathlessly for white smoke as we are, you've come to the right place!

Depending on when the winning vote is taken, white smoke will arise from the Sistine Chapel at 10:30 a.m. CET (5:30 a.m. EDT / 2:30 a.m. PDT), noon CET (7 a.m. EDT / 4 a.m. PDT), 5:30 p.m. CET (12:30 p.m. EDT / 9:30 a.m. PDT) or 7 p.m. CET (2 p.m. EDT / 11 a.m. PDT). If no pope is elected, black smoke will arise from the chapel's chimney at noon CET (7 a.m. EDT / 4 a.m. PDT) and 7 p.m. CET (2 p.m. EDT / 11 a.m. PDT). All times are estimates based on prior papal elections and predictions from the Vatican. Actual times may vary.

This page will be continuously updated with the latest smoke signals.

1. March 12th, 7:41 p.m. CET (2:41 p.m. EDT / 11:41 a.m. PDT) -- Black Smoke

2. March 13th, 11:39 a.m. CET (6:39 a.m. EDT / 3:39 a.m. PDT) -- Black smoke

If you're on Twitter, you may want to follow these accounts while watching.

The Huffington Post's complete coverage of the papal election is here.

Also on HuffPost:

Conclave Begins
Share this
Current Slide

Suggest a correction

Around the Web

WATCH Sistine Chapel Smoke Cam | New Pope Live Stream ...

Catholic faithful watch Sistine chapel smoke as they await new pope ...

Black smoke from Sistine Chapel; no decision on pope - World News

Black smoke expected at Sistine Chapel today | Boston Herald

Cardinals fail to pick new pope in first vote

Black Smoke Emerges From Sistine Chapel Chimney: No New Pope ...

Black smoke billows from Sistine Chapel chimney signals no pope ...