'Mistaken For Strangers' Trailer: National Documentary, Which Opens Tribeca Film Festival, Gets First Look (VIDEO)

04/15/2013 01:30 pm ET | Updated Jun 15, 2013

"Mistaken For Strangers," the new documentary about indie rock outfit The National, opens the 2013 Tribeca Film Festival on Wednesday in New York. Fans who can't attend the screening, however, can take refuge in the first "Mistaken For Strangers" trailer, which presents the central conceit of the film: that lead singer Matt Berninger's brother, Tom, is a ne'er-do-well screw-up looking to make good.

"I just want to make something good for him, as well as myself," a tearful Tom says during one of the film's confessionals. The trailer makes good use of the band's hit song "Fake Empire," but not the track that gives the film it's name.

"Mistaken For Strangers" debuts on April 17 at the Tribeca Film Festival. The National have a new album, "Trouble Will Find Me," coming out on May 20. Check out the track listing below. Watch the "Mistaken For Strangers" trailer in the window above.

  1. I Should Live in Salt
  2. Demons
  3. Don't Swallow the Cap
  4. Fireproof
  5. Sea of Love
  6. Heavenfaced
  7. This is the Last Time
  8. Graceless
  9. Slipped
  10. I Need My Girl
  11. Humiliation
  12. Pink Rabbits
  13. Hard to Find

Music By The National

Suggest a correction