Huffpost Sports

Dustin Penner Goal Not Counted Due To Early Whistle In Kings-Sharks Game 4 (VIDEO)

Posted: Updated:
NBC Sports
NBC Sports

The Los Angeles Kings were visibly frustrated after a chance to cut the Sharks lead in half was dashed with an early whistle on Tuesday night.

During the second period of Game 4, forward Tyler Toffoli redirected a shot by Slava Voynov that Sharks goalie Antti Niemi appeared to stop. But Niemi didn't have control of the puck, and Los Angeles' Dustin Penner put it in the net as it rolled out behind him. Unfortunately for Penner, the referee whistled the play dead before he could be credited with the goal.


The Sharks won the game, 2-1, to tie the series.

"It was a quick whistle is all," Kings winger Dustin Brown said after the game, via "Those kind of things tend to even themselves out over the course of a year."

This is the second officiating controversy in two days. On Monday the Chicago Blackhawks had a goal waved off after a seemingly phantom interference call.

Also on HuffPost:

2013 NHL Playoff Highlights
Share this
Current Slide

Suggest a correction

Around the Web

Quick whistle wipes out apparent Kings goal

Kings are left crying foul after 2-1 overtime loss to Sharks

From Our Partners