Drake Releases New Songs, Unveils 'Nothing Was The Same' Release Date (UPDATED)

Posted: Updated:

Steel yourselves, Drake fans: The start of summer suddenly feels like Christmas, given the present bestowed upon us by the 26-year-old rapper.

Drake has unveiled four new songs and announced that his third album, "Nothing Was The Same," will be released Sept. 17. Given that we haven't yet seen the track list for "Same" (only a fake one), it's unclear whether the songs will be part of the new album.

Two of the four tracks -- PARTYNEXTDOOR's "Over Here" and a remix of Migos' "Versace," the original of which is part of the rap trio's newly released mixtape -- do no give Drake top billing, although both feature the rapper prominently.

Another debut, "Jodeci Freestyle," seems especially timely. Featuring J. Cole, whose second album "Born Sinner" was released June 18, the song's first line reflects Drake's latest success: "26 on my third GQ cover." The fourth track, "The Motion," features Sampha, who collaborated with Jessie Ware on her 2011 single "Valentine."

Check out the four tracks here:

UPDATE: Following the announcement, Drake released a video to promote the album. The clip shows Drake getting his Grammy award for Best Rap Album in a box, then proceeding to drink and take shots out of the trophy. Take a look at the video above.

Related on HuffPost:

2013 Music Preview
Share this
Current Slide

Suggest a correction

Around the Web

Drake New Songs, Videos, Mixtapes, & Albums - DJBooth.net

Drake Put Out Two New Songs About His Feelings | NOISEY

Drake | New Music And Songs | MTV

Top 10 Drake New Songs 2013 List | Upcoming Latest Album Music ...

Drake News, Drake Songs & Drake Videos - Hip Hop Lead

Drakes shares two new songs: “The Motion” and “Jodeci Freestyle”

New Song: Migos (feat. Drake) - 'Versace' (Remix)

New Song: Drake Featuring James Fauntleroy, 'On My Way' (NSFW)

Drake's new song ' On My Way ' surfaces online ( audio )

Drake's New Album To Feature Justin Timberlake Collaboration?