'Snap Save,' New iPhone App, Lets You Save Snapchats -- Without Letting The Sender Know

08/09/2013 01:44 pm ET

Just when you thought Snapchat was a safe place to sext.

A new iOS app named Snap Save not only makes saving Snapchat photos and videos easier than ever, it also saves them without letting the sender know.

After downloading the app and logging into your Snapchat account, snapees can see all the snaps they have previously received. Though these cannot be reopened and viewed, any new incoming video or photo will be kept in Snap Save for repeated viewing.

You've always been able to take a screenshot of a Snapchat, but the app would immediately alert the sender that the recipient had done so, making the saving of embarrassing or sexually explicit pictures and videos faux pas. The makers of Snap Save expect such demand for their app that they are charging $2.99 for it.

The app will also get rid of the ads that appear every time you view a saved snap. Switching between the official Snapchat app and Snap Save will require a bit of logging in and out, considering your login can only be used by one app at a time.

The Huffington Post has reached out to Snapchat to see if it has plans to block Snap Save.

This is far from the first time that the "ephemeral" nature of Snapchat has been called into question. In May, a digital forensics researcher and even amateur coders determined that Snapchat does not actually delete files from phones. However, before Snap Save, the process for retrieving them required special software and some technical expertise.

Other Snapchatters who send provocative pictures have also had to worry about jilted exes uploading the snaps online. Websites like "Snapchat Leaked" and "Naked Snapchats," which collect risqué snaps, have popped up on Facebook and blog networks.

[h/t Betabeat]

Earlier on HuffPost:

Creepy Apps

YOU MAY LIKE

CONVERSATIONS