Huffpost Books

PEN Award Winners 2013: Larry Kramer, Frank Deford Among Honored

Posted: Updated:
University of Chicago Press

NEW YORK — Playwright Larry Kramer and sportswriter Frank Deford are among this year's winners of awards given by the PEN American Center, the literary and human rights organization.

Sergio De Le Pava, author of "A Naked Singularity," has received a $25,000 prize for writing the best debut novel. Katherine Boo's "Beyond the Beautiful Forevers" is cited for best nonfiction and Pulitzer Prize-winning poet Robert Hass' "What Light Can Do" for best essay collection. Boo and Hass each will receive $10,000.

Also Wednesday, Kramer was named a master dramatist and received $7,500, while Deford was honored with a $5,000 prize for lifetime achievement.

Also on The Huffington Post

PEN Award Winners 2013 Highlights
Share this
Current Slide

Suggest a correction

Around the Web

Literary Awards | PEN American Center

Shortlists Announced for the 2013 PEN Literary Awards | PEN ...

Blog - PEN American Center

Larry Kramer, Frank Deford, Katherine Boo are among PEN award winners

2013 PEN Literary Awards Announced

Amnesty International media awards 2014: calling all students