Huffpost Books

Whiting Writers' Awards Announced: 10 Emerging Writers Receive $50,000 Prizes

Posted: Updated:
fragment of a stack of old books | Shutterstock

NEW YORK -- NEW YORK (AP) — Ten emerging authors, poets and playwrights have been picked as winners of $50,000 prizes for showing "exceptional talent and promise."

Pulitzer Prize-winning playwright Tony Kushner hosted a ceremony in Manhattan on Monday for the Whiting Writers' Awards.

Recipients include fiction writers Hanna Dela Cruz Abrams and Amanda Coplin (COPE'-lin), poets Ishion (EYE'-shee-on) Hutchinson and Rowan Ricardo Phillips and playwright Virginia Grise (GRICE'). The other honorees are fiction writers Jennifer DuBois, C.E. Morgan and Stephanie Powell Watts, nonfiction writer Morgan Meis (MEESE') and nonfiction-fiction writer Clifford Thompson.

The Whiting prizes were established in 1985. Previous winners include Kushner, Jonathan Franzen and Mary Karr.

Around the Web

Annual Writing Awards > 2013 Winners - American Society of ...

Writers Guild of America, West

2013 Nominees & Winners - Writers Guild Awards

$50000 Awards Go to 10 Writers

At 28, Writer Is Youngest to Receive Booker Prize

Robert Barnard, Award-Winning Writer of British Crime 'Cozies,' Dies at 76