Huffpost Books

'I Love My Librarian' Awards Announced By American Library Association

Posted: Updated:

NEW YORK (AP) — Some were praised as inspirations for young people, others for their work on digital projects and still others as tireless researchers.

The American Library Association announced Tuesday that 10 librarians were named winners of the I Love My Librarian award. Each will receive $5,000. The awards were based on nominations from more than 1,100 library patrons nationwide and were sponsored by The New York Times and the Carnegie Corporation of New York.

Winners include Jennifer J. Jamison of Atlantic High School in New Jersey, cited for using e-book devices to encourage kids to read. Molly Ledermann of Montana's Missoula Public Library was chosen for making the library more accessible for Spanish speakers. Harold M. Forbes of West Virginia University has had a "profound impact" on the state's archives, according to the association.

Around the Web

I Love My Librarian Award | I Love Libraries

About the Award | I Love Libraries

About the I Love My Librarian Award | I Love Libraries

Beloved: 10 librarians receive I Love My Librarian awards, each worth $5000

Atlantic City schools librarian gets second national award

Ten librarians from across the nation receive prestigious public service honor