04/20/2015 12:21 pm ET | Updated Apr 20, 2015

Lelisa Desisa Is The Men's Winner Of The 2015 Boston Marathon

Jim Rogash via Getty Images

Ethiopia's Lelisa Desisa was the winner of the men's 2015 Boston Marathon on Monday. His unofficial time was 2:09:17. Desisa won the marathon back in 2013, the year of the violent bombings. He was not injured in that incident.

Yemane Adhane Tsegay of Ethiopia and Kenya's Wilson Chebet came in second and third, respectively.

Desisa donated his medal back to the city of Boston in June of 2013 during a ceremony with the late and former Boston Mayor Thomas Menino.

"The reason I want to give the medal back is I want people to know I feel the pain," Desisa said at the time. "The pain I have is with me, [and] that only encourages me, every time when I run."


Photos From The 2015 Boston Marathon