08/01/2013 02:19 pm ET Updated Feb 02, 2016

The New 13

The original Thirteen Colonies were on the coast of North America and founded between 1607 (Virginia) and 1733 (Georgia). In 1776 they set up a Continental Congress that declared their independence from Great Britain, and the first 13 states of the United States of America were formed.

Today, Aug. 1, 2013, marks another historic milestone with two new states officially allowing gay marriage. There are now 13 states that allow the freedom to marry for all Americans. Just like the original 13 colonies that declared their independence 237 years ago, a new set of 13 original states is leading the way for freedom.

We salute the voters, legislators and judges who have stood up for equality for all Americans. Some 30 percent of Americans now live in states where gay marriage is legal. The lucky 13 are California, Connecticut, Delaware, Iowa, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Minnesota, New Hampshire, New York, Rhode Island, Vermont and Washington, as well as Washington, D.C.

So we at Rights Equal Rights, who fight for marriage equality each and every day, put together a new flag -- a flag of the United States of Gay Marriage America (one star for each gay marriage state, and one in the center for Washington, D.C.):


We will be adding stars all the time until the flag has all 50 stars on it.

Feel free to use it, share it and set it as your Facebook cover photo, like we did to celebrate this historic day.

Our founders would be extremely proud today knowing that in at least 13 states "we are all created equal."