iOS app Android app More

BC-AP Olympic Digest

stumbleupon: BC-AP Olympic Digest   digg: US Works With Sudan Government Suspected Of Aiding Genocide   reddit: BC-AP Olympic Digest   del.icio.us: BC-AP Olympic Digest

February 12, 2014 10:05 AM EST | AP


The AP Olympic Digest at 10 a.m. EST (1500 GMT). The supervisor of the Olympic desk in Sochi is Chris Lehourites. NOTE: Members should get all Olympic copy. Please call the service desk (800 838-4616) for any problems or reruns.

TOP STORIES:

OLY--SKI-WOMEN'S DOWNHILL

KRASNAYA POLYANA, Russia — Slovenia's Tina Maze and Switzerland's Dominique Gisin took different paths on a women's downhill filled with flats and turns, jumps and bumps. By the finish, they both won the gold medal, the first time an Olympic Alpine race ends in a tie. By Howard Fendrich. SENT: 800 words, photos.

— With:

— OLY--SKI-Women's Downhill-Hoefl-Riesch. By Pat Graham. SENT: 350 words, photos.

— OLY--SKI-Women's Downhill-Gut's Tears. By Pat Graham. SENT: 350 words, photos.

OLY--FIG-PAIRS-FREE SKATE

SOCHI, Russia — The Olympic record books are loaded with gold in Russian pairs. Tatiana Volosozhar and Maxim Trankov are closing in on another. The world champions lead Aliona Savchenko and Robin Szolkowy of Germany going into the free skate. By Rachel Cohen. UPCOMING: 700 words, photos. Competition starts 10:45 a.m. EST, 1545 GMT.

OLY--HKW-CANADA-US

SOCHI, Russia — Canada defeats the U.S. 3-2 in a preliminary round game between the two best teams in women's hockey. This is a likely preview of the gold medal match. By Jimmy Golen. SENT: 130 words, photos. UPCOMING: 700 words, photos by 11 a.m. EST, 1600 GMT.

DIGITAL LIFE-REVIEW-MOBILE OLYMPICS

NEW YORK — Welcome to the Mobile Olympics. In many ways, some of the official apps for phones and tablets are slicker and easier to use than their website counterparts. So if you have an iPhone, iPad or an Android device, check out these five free apps. By Anick Jesdanun. UPCOMING: 800 words, photos by 3 p.m. EST, 2000 GMT.

NEWS/POLITICS:

OLY--SOCHI-ACTIVIST JAILED

SOCHI, Russia — An activist who shed light on the environmental impact of Olympic construction in Sochi is ordered to serve three years in prison for spray-painting a fence. By Nataliya Vasilyeva. SENT: 350 words, photos.

— Also:

— TBILISI, Georgia — OLY-Georgia-Breakaway-Regions. By Misha Dzhindzhikhashvili. SENT: 300 words.

— KRASNAYA POLYANA, Russia — OLY--LUG-Kumaritashvili. By Tim Reynolds. SENT: 300 words, photos.

FIXTURES:

OLY--OLYMPIC ROUNDUP

SOCHI, Russia — The gold market gets an unexpected boost on Day 6 of the Olympics, with Tina Maze of Slovenia and Dominique Gisin of Switzerland declared winners of the women's downhill. In all, gold medals are awarded in six sports. By Fred Lief. SENT: 300 words, photos. UPCOMING: 700 words, photos by noon EST, 1700 GMT.

— With:

— OLY--Sochi Scene — Multiple shareable text-and-photo nuggets about the Olympics, inside the arenas and out. About 50-300 words each, between 12 and 20 items daily. With photos.

— SOCHI, Russia — OLY--Olympics-5 Things. Five things to know about the Sochi Olympics. SENT: 350 words, photos.

— SOCHI, Russia — OLY--Sochi Olympic Glance. Highlights of Day 6. UPCOMING: 300 words, photos by noon EST, 1700 GMT.

— SOCHI, Russia — OLY--Sochi-Photo Gallery. 20 notable Olympic photos on Day 6. UPCOMING: about noon EST, 1700 GMT.

COMPETITION:

Gold medals in Alpine skiing, figure skating, luge, Nordic combined, snowboarding, speedskating.

OLY--SPD-MEN'S 1000

SOCHI, Russia — American speedskater Shani Davis goes in the 1,000 meters and can burnish his Olympic legacy with a record third straight victory. By National Writer Paul Newberry. UPCOMING: 700 words, photos. Race starts 9 a.m. EST, 1400 GMT.

— With:

— OLY--SPD-Kramer. By Raf Casert. SENT: 350 words, photos.

OLY--SBD-WOMEN'S HALFPIPE

KRASNAYA POLYANA, Russia — Never more prepared than right now, American Kelly Clark goes for her second Olympic gold medal, 12 years after she won the first one, in the women's halfpipe contest Wednesday. By National Writer Eddie Pells. UPCOMING: 800 words, photos. Event ends about 2 p.m. EST, 1900 GMT.

OLY--LUG-DOUBLES

KRASNAYA POLYANA — Austrian brothers Andreas and Wolfgang Linger try to become the first team to win three consecutive Olympic golds in luge doubles. To do so, the Lingers will have to outrace Germany's Tobias Wendl and Tobias Arlt, who dominated the World Cup circuit this season. By Tom Withers. UPCOMING: 600 words, photos. Competition starts 9:15 p.m. EST, 1415 GMT.

OLY--NOR-INDIVIDUAL NORMAL HILL

KRASNAYA POLYANA, Russia — Eric Frenzel of Germany wins the Nordic combined individual normal hill. He led after ski jumping and powered home on the cross-country course. Frenzel, the runaway World Cup leader, is followed by Akito Watabe of Japan and Magnus Krog of Norway. By Dennis Passa. SENT: 700 words, photos.

OLY--CUR-MEN'S CURLING ROUNDUP

SOCHI, Russia — Norway and China remain unbeaten and the U.S. finally wins in men's curling. The Norwegians beat Germany 8-5 for a third consecutive victory. The U.S. men and women had been a combined 0-5 after two days. By Steve Douglas. SENT: 450 words, photos. UPCOMING: 600 words, photos.

OLY--CUR-WOMEN'S CURLING ROUNDUP

SOCHI, Russia — Canada gets a third straight win in women's curling, beating Britain 9-6 in a game that goes down to the final stone. The U.S. loses again to move to the brink of elimination. By Steve Douglas. SENT: 400 words, photos.

— Also:

— OLY--HKO-Czech Republic-Sweden. By Greg Beacham. UPCOMING: 600 words, photos. Game starts noon EST, 1700 GMT.

— OLY--HKO-Latvia-Switzerland. By Hockey Writer Larry Lage. UPCOMING: 600 words, photos. Game starts noon EST, 1700 GMT.

— OLY--SKI-Men's Super-Combined Training. SENT: 130 words.

FEATURES:

OLY--HKO-CROSBY'S ENCORE

SOCHI, Russia — Sidney Crosby isn't trying to top the gold-medal winning goal he scored for Canada four years ago. In his second Olympics, he's hoping to be a good team captain while adding to his legacy at the Sochi Games. By Greg Beacham. SENT: 600 words, photos.

OLY--HKO-US-PAVELSKI

SOCHI, Russia — Joe Pavelski is skating under the radar for the U.S. hockey team. His teammates expect that to change when the games begin. By Hockey Writer Larry Lage. UPCOMING: 600 words, photos by 8 a.m. EST, 1300 GMT.

OLY--SBD-GLORY VS GOLD

KRASNAYA POLYANA, Russia — Snowboarding and freestyle skiing have always had an uneasy relationship with competition. In sports built on freedom of expression, signature moments always mattered as much as medals. In the men's halfpipe final, Iouri Podladtchikov nailed down both. By Will Graves. UPCOMING: 800 words, photos by 10:30 a.m. EST, 1530 GMT.

OLY--SBD-JAPAN'S BIG NIGHT

KRASNAYA POLYANA, Russia — A year ago, Ayumu Hirano was known as the young kid who might someday beat Shaun White. On the best night for Japan on a halfpipe, the 15-year-old did just that at the Olympics. By National Writer Eddie Pells. SENT: 550 words, photos.

OLY--SKE-NOELLE'S FINALE

KRASNAYA POLYANA, Russia — This time, the retirement is real. All Noelle Pikus-Pace has left in her skeleton career is four runs, at the Olympics. That starts Thursday when she looks to cap her time on a sled with gold. Standing in her way: Britain's Lizzy Yarnold, her only real rival this season. By Tim Reynolds. UPCOMING: 700 words, photos by 11 a.m. EST, 1600 GMT.

OLY--LUG-HAMLIN'S BRONZE

KRASNAYA POLYANA, Russia — Erin Hamlin's bronze medal in women's luge is a highlight on her resume. It's also likely going to be a giant boost for USA Luge, which has struggled in recent years to find money and success. By Tim Reynolds. SENT: 500 words, photos.

OTHER NEWS:

— KRASNAYA POLYANA, Russia — OLY--SKI-Austria-Doping-Test. By Eric Willemsen. SENT: 250 words, photos.