iOS app Android app More

BC-AP-Olympic-Digest,ADVISORY

stumbleupon: BC-AP-Olympic-Digest,ADVISORY   digg: US Works With Sudan Government Suspected Of Aiding Genocide   reddit: BC-AP-Olympic-Digest,ADVISORY   del.icio.us: BC-AP-Olympic-Digest,ADVISORY

February 17, 2014 10:03 PM EST | AP


The AP Olympic digest at 10 p.m. EST (0300 GMT). The supervisor of the Olympic desk in Sochi is Fred Lief. NOTE: All members should get all Olympic copy. Please call the Service Desk (800 838-4616) if any problems or for reruns.

TOP STORIES:

OLY--FIG-FREE DANCE

SOCHI, Russia — Through 17 years of grueling practices, of defeats and victories, Meryl Davis and Charlie White insist they've never considered parting ways. A perfect pairing, they are nearly flawless at the Sochi Olympics, and become the first Americans to win an ice dance gold medal. By Rachel Cohen. SENT. 725 words, photos.

— With:

— OLY--FIG-Mao Asada's Moment. By Rachel Cohen. SENT. 370 words, photos.

SOCHI-WEATHER DELAYS

KRASNAYA POLYANA, Russia — Thick fog lingering over the mountains causes the biggest weather disruptions of the Sochi Olympics so far, with a biathlon race and a snowboard event both postponed until Tuesday. By Mattias Karen. 680 words, photos.

GAY ACTIVIST ARRESTED

SOCHI, Russia — An Italian activist shouting "It's OK to be gay" and dressed in a rainbow-colored outfit and large headdress is detained as she enters an arena to watch an Olympic hockey game. By Nataliya Vasilyeva. SENT. 700 words, photos.

OLY--NERVOUS NORWAY

SOCHI, Russia — Norway's Olympic officials had more things to worry about than the stunning collapse of their cross-country relay teams over the weekend. The king and queen were coming, just in time to help salvage an Olympics that hasn't gone entirely as planned. By Tim Dahlberg. SENT. 900 words, photos.

NEWS/POLITICS:

OLY--GAY RIGHTS-STAR POWER

LOS ANGELES — The combination appeared custom-made for Hollywood activism: a stirring human rights cause and the international platform that is the Winter Olympics. But halfway through the games, film and TV stars have been background players in the outcry against Russia's policies on gays. By Entertainment Writer Lynn Elber. SENT: 1,400 words, photos.

OLY--SOCHI SECURITY

SOCHI, Russia — For all the warnings that security in Sochi would be invasive and aggressive, it's appearing more and more uneven, and in places almost relaxed. No attacks have been reported, and the world's attention has turned to skiing and skating instead of security measures. By Angela Charlton. SENT: 700 words, photos.

OLY--THE OLYMPIC PUTIN

SOCHI, Russia — Competitors at the Olympics get nervous knowing that the eyes of the world will be on them for a few minutes. For Vladimir Putin, that scrutiny extends for the entire 17 days of the games. And many of those eyes are waiting for him to fail. By Jim Heintz. SENT: 1,000 words, photos.

FIXTURES:

OLYMPIC ROUNDUP

SOCHI, Russia — It was Belarus day Monday at the Sochi Olympics. By David Pace. SENT. 720 words, photos.

— With:

—SOCHI, Russia — OLY--Sochi Scene — Multiple shareable text-and-photo nuggets about the Olympics, inside the arenas and out. About 50-300 words each, between 12 and 20 items daily. With photos.

— SOCHI, Russia — OLY--Olympics-5 Things. Five things to know about the Sochi Olympics. SENT: 350 words, photos.

— SOCHI, Russia — OLY--Sochi Olympic Glance. Highlights of Day 11. SENT. 500 words, photos.

— SOCHI, Russia — OLY--Sochi-Photo Gallery. 20 notable Olympic photos on Day 11. SENT.

COMPETITION:

Medals were awarded Monday in biathlon, bobsled, figure skating, freestyle skiing, ski jumping.

Medals:

OLY--BIA-WOMEN'S 12-5K MASS START

KRASNAYA POLYANA, Russia — Darya Domracheva is so light-footed on her skis, her rivals have started comparing her with a dancer. Without losing rhythm, the Belarusian eases to her third victory at the Sochi Games by winning the 12.5-kilometer mass start race, completing an unprecedented haul of three gold medals in women's biathlon at one Olympics. By Eric Willemsen. SENT. 620 words, photos.

OLY--BOB-TWO-MAN

KRASNAYA POLYANA, Russia — Winless in the last three years in two-man bobsledding, Alexander Zubkov picks the perfect time and place to put that streak to an emphatic end. By Sports Writer Tim Reynolds. SENT. 775 words, photos.

— With:

— OLY--BOB-Holcomb Delivers. By Time Reynolds. SENT. 720 words, photos.

OLY--FRE-MEN'S AERIALS

KRASNAYA POLYANA, Russia — This was a high five Anton Kushnir will never forget. Five spins into the frosty night air followed by a near-perfect landing give Kushnir the gold medal and wrap up a sweep of aerials gold at the Sochi Olympics for Belarus. By National Writer Eddie Pells. SENT. 720 words, photos.

— With:

— OLY--FRE-China's Disappointment. By Will Graves. SENT. 500 words, photos.

OLY--JUM-TEAM

KRASNAYA POLYANA, Russia — With the gold medal on the line, Severin Freund makes his final jump, then hopes it will be enough to give Germany victory in the team large hill ski jumping competition at the Sochi Olympics. It was. By Dennis Passa. SENT. 630 words, photos.

— Also:

— KRASNAYA POLYANA, Russia — OLY--SBD-Men's-Snowboardcross-Delayed. By Will Graves. SENT: 350 words, photos.

— KRASNAYA POLYANA, Russia — OLY--BIA-Men's 15k Mass Start-Delayed. SENT. 120 words.

Non-Medals:

OLY--HKW-SWEDEN-US

SOCHI, Russia — The U.S. defeats Sweden 6-1 to reach the gold medal game in women's hockey — something the Americans failed to do in Turin in 2006. That was the only time since the sport was added to the Winter Games that the U.S. and Canada didn't play in the final. By Jimmy Golen. SENT: 400 words, photos.

OLY--HKW-SWITZERLAND-CANADA

SOCHI, Russia — The unbeaten Canadians clinch a spot in the Olympic championship game for the fifth straight time, beating Switzerland 3-1 in the semifinals. By Jimmy Golen. SENT. 450 words, photos.

OLY--CUR-MEN'S CURLING ROUNDUP

SOCHI, Russia — Chinese curlers finally make a breakthrough at international level by beating Britain 6-5 in a winner-takes-all last game of the round robin to reach the Olympic semifinals. By Steve Douglas. SENT. 680 words, photos.

OLY--CUR-WOMEN'S CURLING ROUNDUP

SOCHI, Russia — First, the good news for Britain's women curlers — they are through to the semifinals of the Olympic Games. The bad news? Undefeated Canada lies in wait. By Steve Douglas. SENT: 475 words, photos.

UPCOMING:

Weather permitting, medals will be awarded Tuesday in alpine skiing, biathlon, freestyle skiing, Nordic combined, snowboarding, speedskating and short track.

OLY--SKI-WOMEN'S GIANT SLALOM

KRASNAYA POLYANA, Russia — Anna Fenninger of Austria, the Olympic super-G gold medalist, is among favorites for the women's giant slalom. Jessica Lindell-Vikarby and Maria Pietilae-Holmner of Sweden lead the World Cup standings. By Howard Fendrich. UPCOMING. First run starts at 2 a.m. EST, 0700 GMT.

— With:

— OLY--SKI-Alpine-Lookahead. By Graham Dunbar. SENT. 560 words, photos.

OLY--FRE-MEN'S HALFPIPE

KRASNAYA POLYANA, Russia — American halfpipe skier David Wise plans to unleach a new trick in a bid to win gold as halfpipe freestyle skiing makes its Olympic debut. By Pat Graham. UPCOMING. Finals start at 12:30 p.m. EST, 1730 GMT.

— With:

— OLY--FRE-Men's Halfpipe-Lookahead. By Pat Graham. SENT. 540 words, photos.

OLY--NOR-LARGE HILL

KRASNAYA POLYANA, Russia — Eric Frenzel of Germany could add to his normal hill gold medal with a second gold on the large hill — but only if he shakes off a virus and fever that have put him in doubt to even start. By Dennis Passa. UPCOMING. Jumping starts at 4:30 a.m. EST, 0930 GMT.

— With:

— OLY--NOR-Large Hill-Lookahead. By Dennis Passa. Moved. 500 words, photos.

OLY--SBD-MEN'S SNOWBOARDCROSS

KRASNAYA POLYANA, Russia — Winter X Games snowboardcross champion Nate Holland attempts to add an Olympic title to his resume in the fog-delayed event, four years after finishing fourth in Vancouver. By National Writer. Eddie Pells. UPCOMING. Finals start at 2:18 a.m. EST, 0718 GMT.

OLY--SPD-MEN'S 10000

SOCHI, Russia — Sven Kramer is going for the gold medal in the 10,000 meters, four years after a bad lane change cost him the title in Vancouver. By National Writer Paul Newberry. UPCOMING. Starts at 8 a.m. EST, 1300 GMT.

— With:

— OLY--SPD-Men's 10000-lookahead. By Raf Casert. SENT. 430 words, photos.

OLY--SHO-WOMEN'S 3000 RELAY

SOCHI, Russia — China and South Korea are favorites in the women's short track 3,000-meter relay, as they were in the dramatic final four years ago in Vancouver. By BETH HARRIS. UPCOMING. Final starts at 6:04 a.m. EST, 1104 GMT.

— With:

— OLY--SHO-Short Track-Lookahead. By Beth Harris. SENT. 660 words, photos.

OLY--BIA-MEN'S 15K INDIVIDUAL.

KRASNAYA POLYANA, Russia — Two-time gold medalist Martin Fourcade of France and Norwegian standout Ole Einar Bjoerrndalen will be among the 30 leading biathletes battling it out in the twice-delayed 15-kilometer mass start biathlon. By Eric Willemsen. UPCOMING. Race starts at 5:30 a.m. EST, 1030 GMT.

Non-Medal:

OLY--CUR-NORWAY-BRITAIN

SOCHI, Russia — Norway plays Britain in a tiebreaker to determine the final qualifier for the Olympic semifinals in men's curling. Canada, Sweden and China are already through to the playoffs. By Steve Douglas. UPCOMING. Midnight EST, 0500 GMT.

OLY-HKO--OLYMPICS-NHL

SOCHI, Russia — NHL Commissioner Gary Bettman was to talk to reporters about the future, or lack of it, of the league letting its players participate in the 2018 Olympics. By Larry Lage. UPCOMING: 700 words, photos. Developing from 2 a.m. EST, 0700 GMT news conference.

— With:

— OLY--HKO-Czech Republic-Slovakia. UPCOMING. Game starts at noon EST, 1700 GMT.

— OLY--HKO-Slovenia-Austria. By Larry Lage. UPCOMING. Game starts 3 a.m. EST, 0800 GMT.

— OLY--HKO-Russia-Norway. By Greg Beacham. UPCOMING. Game starts 7:30 a.m. EST, 1230 GMT.

— OLY--HKO-Switzerland-Latvia. By Greg Beacham. UPCOMING. Game starts noon EST, 1700 GMT.

— OLY--HKO-QUIET CROSBY. By Greg Beacham. UPCOMING. 600 words, photos by noon EST, 1700 GMT.

FEATURES:

OLY--SKI-SHIFFRIN STARTS

KRASNAYA POLYANA, Russia — Mikaela Shiffrin's been writing it all down for years: How to get better on the slopes. What the Winter Games will be like. What questions might reporters ask. The 18-year-old American makes her Olympic debut Tuesday in the giant slalom. She and her mother make clear only a medal will do. By Howard Fendrich. SENT. 700 words, photos.

— With:

— OLY--SKI-Svindal Out. By Andrew Dampf. SENT: 300 words, photos.

— OLY--SKI-East Timor's Olympian. By Andrew Dampf and Howard Fendrich. SENT: 700 words, photos.

— OLY--SKI-McJames Makes It. By Andrew Dampf. UPCOMING: 500 words, photos by noon EST, 1700 GMT.

OLY--SPD-AMERICAN DEBACLE-WHAT NOW?

SOCHI, Russia — With its Olympics in shambles and little hope of turning things around in Sochi, the U.S. speedskating team must try to figure out what went wrong. Everyone knows that painful self-assessment could lead to profound changes. By National Writer Paul Newberry. SENT. 700 words, photos.

OLY--BOB-LAURYN AND LOLO

KRASNAYA POLYANA, Russia — The funny thing is, neither Lauryn Williams nor Lolo Jones should be here. Williams recovered from a popped hamstring; Jones wouldn't have tried bobsledding had she won an Olympic track medal. Yet here they are, Summer-turned-Winter Olympians. By Tim Reynolds. SENT: 900 words, photos.

OLY--BOB-HUMPHRIES' MARKS

KRASNAYA POLYANA, Russia — After winning gold in Vancouver, Canada's Kaillie Humphries got a tattoo of her medal inked on her back. It's the latest body art for the defending Olympic champion who can become the first athlete to win consecutive golds in two-man bobsled. By Tom Withers. SENT: 750 words, photos.