iOS app Android app

Gore Vidal

Broadway Will Go Dark For Vidal

AP | MARK KENNEDY | Posted 10.01.2012 | Home

NEW YORK — Broadway theaters will dim their marquee lights on Friday night in memory of Gore Vidal and the cast of his play "The Best Man" will ...

Gore Vidal: Thank You

Jerry and Joe Long | Posted 10.01.2012 | Home
Jerry and Joe Long

Certain people transform your life. How do you thank someone for perspective? How do you thank someone for teaching you to think? I was lucky. I got to do it in person.

LOOK: Where Gore Vidal Grew Up

The Huffington Post | Michael Grass | Posted 08.01.2012 | DC

WASHINGTON -- Broad Branch Road, a winding lane that sits at the edge of Rock Creek Park, might be best known as a scenic commuter short-cut through t...

Gore Vidal's Visionary Case For Marijuana Legalization 40 Years Ago

Tony Newman | Posted 10.01.2012 | Politics
Tony Newman

There's one political issue that Vidal wrote about that has been overlooked: his opposition to the insane war on drugs.

Hail and Farewell, Gore Vidal

Peter Z. Scheer | Posted 10.01.2012 | Books
Peter Z. Scheer

I don't feel sad for Gore Vidal today. He lived to 86 and he had the kind of life people ask Santa Claus for. It was not without hardship, loss or suffering, but he leaves behind great works and a million smiles. If anything, I feel sad for my country, which lost one of its truest patriots.

25 Things Gore Vidal Hated

Posted 08.01.2012 | Books

With Gore Vidal's death yesterday, we lost a major American iconoclast. Vidal was a man of many words, quite a few of them extremely negative. Writ...

In Remembrance: Gore Vidal's Caligula

Posted 08.01.2012 | Arts

Famed author author, playwright and commentator Gore Vidal passed away today at the age of 86. The sharp-tongued author, known for novels such as "Bur...

Gore Vidal's Most Notable Books

Posted 08.01.2012 | Books

Gore Vidal, who died today at age 86, wore many hats as a writer. Aside from eight plays and 14 screenplays, including contributions to the iconic "Be...

Gore Vidal's Former Italian Home, Villa La Rondinaia, Shows Late Author's Love Of Amalfi Coast (PHOTOS)

Posted 08.01.2012 | Travel

Gore Vidal, the prolific American author who passed away on July 31, left behind both an intellectual legacy and a reputation for living large. Hi...

My Conversation with Gore Vidal (Video)

Dusty Wright | Posted 10.01.2012 | Books
Dusty Wright

I had the good fortune of sitting with Gore on several occasions these past few years. This is one of my favorite sit-downs with him.

Memorable Quotes From Gore Vidal

Posted 08.01.2012 | Books

Gore Vidal was certainly a prolific author, screenwriter, essayist. He was also a witty observer of human nature in the tradition of Mark Twain and H....

Gore Vidal (1925-2012): He Did It His Way (And Loved Every Minute)

Jesse Kornbluth | Posted 08.01.2012 | Books
Jesse Kornbluth

Vidal had no self-doubt. He used his legendary intellect in the service of opinions that drew blood. Feuds thrilled him. And he never lost the swagger that comes from knowing that -- at least in his youth -- he was a stunner. Want a guided tour?

Gore Vidal Dead At 86

AP | HILLEL ITALIE | Posted 09.30.2012 | Books

In a world more to his liking, Gore Vidal might have been president, or even king. He had an aristocrat's bearing – tall, handsome and composed ...

A Vote for The Best Man

Joe Peyronnin | Posted 09.10.2012 | Home
Joe Peyronnin

The Best Man depicts a time when presidential conventions were brokered through backroom deals as delegates were swapped for political favors. Today, conventions have become highly scripted coronation ceremonies, just short of political infomercials.

Books You Hold in Your Hand

James A. Fragale | Posted 06.26.2012 | Books
James A. Fragale

While he was bartending a Hollywood party, Lucille Ball sashays in and slaps Scotty Bowers in the face. (Bowers matchmaker-ed for Desi Arnaz). One wonders why he wasn't hit more often. On the other hand, I, for one, would like to shake his hand.

Mike, Me and a Final Coincindence

Reese Schonfeld | Posted 06.17.2012 | Media
Reese Schonfeld

About Mike, I have only one more tale to tell, and it happened by pure coincidence. Mike Wallace was always a ladies man.

The Best Man: Gore Vidal's Patriot Act

Regina Weinreich | Posted 06.10.2012 | Home
Regina Weinreich

Sadly as Americans sort out the values of the real candidates, The Best Man is a reminder that the worst man will have a chance to triumph, and the best may only be a shadow of our highest ideals.

The Best Man: Democracy in Action

Wilborn Hampton | Posted 06.02.2012 | Home
Wilborn Hampton

When Gore Vidal's The Best Man opened in 1960, JFK and LBJ were slugging it out for the Democratic presidential nomination. Half a century later, Michael Wilson's riveting revival is a timely reminder that in politics, the more things change the more they stay the same.

Gore Vidal's The Best Man: Redux

Rochelle Jewel Shapiro | Posted 05.12.2012 | Entertainment
Rochelle Jewel Shapiro

Will Russell, who believes that personal smears shouldn't be used in politics, resort to his opponent's tactics in order to win? There's a chance that most of you already know the answer because The Best Man was also a 1964 movie starring Henry Fonda, Cliff Robertson, and Lee Tracy.

Bipartisanship on Broadway

Rob Taub | Posted 04.28.2012 | Home
Rob Taub

This was a time when politicians were smart, oozed tons of charm and weren't shy about drinking bourbon & branch water. The words politics and entertainment are seldom found in the same sentence, but The Best Man is loaded with both.

Fake Artist's Painting Sells For Big Bucks

Posted 11.18.2011 | Arts

It's not easy to make a name for yourself as an artist these days, and doubly so if you're not a real person. But there seems to have been no trouble ...

PHOTOS: Fashion Juggernaut's Achingly Cool Photographs

Posted 11.16.2011 | Arts

Before he was a photographer, Hedi Slimane was called the "single most influential men’s designer this century" as a designer for Dior. The mid-2000...

Grammar Pet Peeves: Em Dashes—Why Writers Should Use Them More Sparingly

Slate Magazine | Noreen Malone | Posted 07.26.2011 | Books

According to the Associated Press Stylebook--Slate's bible for all things punctuation- and grammar-related--there are two main prose uses--the abrupt ...

PHOTOS: Writers And Their Kitties

writersandkitties.tumblr.com | Posted 07.12.2011 | Books

From Zoe Triska, Huffington Post: This blog catalogs famous writers with the pet kittens and cats. Too cute!...

Gore Vidal Mocks New York Times

Posted 05.25.2011 | Media

Legendary author Gore Vidal took a shot at the New York Times in an interview with Details magazine that was posted on Monday afternoon. The magazi...