iOS app Android app

Gore Vidal

Who Knows Where the Time Goes?

Alice Carey | Posted 10.02.2012 | Fifty
Alice Carey

Writers Gore Vidal and Maeve Binchy have died within twenty-four hours of each other. He was 86, she 73. One I knew. One I didn't.

NYT Forced To Run Major Correction In Gore Vidal Obit

Posted 10.02.2012 | Media

The New York Times was forced to run a very memorable correction for its recent obituary of legendary writer Gore Vidal. Vidal died on Tuesday at 8...

The Precision of Gore Vidal, Broadcaster

David Tereshchuk | Posted 10.02.2012 | Media
David Tereshchuk

Gore Vidal was -- for all his elegant door-stops in print, many of them lauded as superior American historical novels -- absolutely a creature of popular mass media. Of television most of all, I'd say.

The Enthralling, Enlightening, Infuriating Gore Vidal. Now Gone, But Not Resting, I Bet!

Liz Smith | Posted 10.02.2012 | Celebrity
Liz Smith

It is with a sigh of sadness that I bid farewell to my longtime friend and sometimes adversary, the famous writer Gore Vidal. Somehow, in the '70s and '80s, and '90s I became embroiled with knowing and admiring both Gore and his occasional mortal enemies, Norman Mailer...Truman Capote...William F. Buckley, Jr. Later, it was Gore vs. Dominick Dunne, with me in the middle.

My Gore Vidal Days

Robert O. Green | Posted 10.01.2012 | Home
Robert O. Green

It's said that one shouldn't meet one's heroes, that their feet of clay will be exposed, their ugliness will come to the fore. But for me, that wasn't the case with Gore Vidal.

Joy Behar Calls Out 'Real Housewives'

Posted 08.01.2012 | TV

On the day Gore Vidal died, "The View" host Joy Behar found a modern-day application for his famous quote, "Whenever a friend succeeds, a little somet...

Broadway Will Go Dark For Vidal

AP | MARK KENNEDY | Posted 10.01.2012 | Home

NEW YORK — Broadway theaters will dim their marquee lights on Friday night in memory of Gore Vidal and the cast of his play "The Best Man" will ...

Gore Vidal: Thank You

Jerry and Joe Long | Posted 10.01.2012 | Home
Jerry and Joe Long

Certain people transform your life. How do you thank someone for perspective? How do you thank someone for teaching you to think? I was lucky. I got to do it in person.

LOOK: Where Gore Vidal Grew Up

The Huffington Post | Michael Grass | Posted 08.01.2012 | DC

WASHINGTON -- Broad Branch Road, a winding lane that sits at the edge of Rock Creek Park, might be best known as a scenic commuter short-cut through t...

Gore Vidal's Visionary Case For Marijuana Legalization 40 Years Ago

Tony Newman | Posted 10.01.2012 | Politics
Tony Newman

There's one political issue that Vidal wrote about that has been overlooked: his opposition to the insane war on drugs.

Hail and Farewell, Gore Vidal

Peter Z. Scheer | Posted 10.01.2012 | Books
Peter Z. Scheer

I don't feel sad for Gore Vidal today. He lived to 86 and he had the kind of life people ask Santa Claus for. It was not without hardship, loss or suffering, but he leaves behind great works and a million smiles. If anything, I feel sad for my country, which lost one of its truest patriots.

25 Things Gore Vidal Hated

Posted 08.01.2012 | Books

With Gore Vidal's death yesterday, we lost a major American iconoclast. Vidal was a man of many words, quite a few of them extremely negative. Writ...

In Remembrance: Gore Vidal's Caligula

Posted 08.01.2012 | Arts

Famed author author, playwright and commentator Gore Vidal passed away today at the age of 86. The sharp-tongued author, known for novels such as "Bur...

Gore Vidal's Most Notable Books

Posted 08.01.2012 | Books

Gore Vidal, who died today at age 86, wore many hats as a writer. Aside from eight plays and 14 screenplays, including contributions to the iconic "Be...

Gore Vidal's Former Italian Home, Villa La Rondinaia, Shows Late Author's Love Of Amalfi Coast (PHOTOS)

Posted 08.01.2012 | Travel

Gore Vidal, the prolific American author who passed away on July 31, left behind both an intellectual legacy and a reputation for living large. Hi...

My Conversation with Gore Vidal (Video)

Dusty Wright | Posted 10.01.2012 | Books
Dusty Wright

I had the good fortune of sitting with Gore on several occasions these past few years. This is one of my favorite sit-downs with him.

Memorable Quotes From Gore Vidal

Posted 08.01.2012 | Books

Gore Vidal was certainly a prolific author, screenwriter, essayist. He was also a witty observer of human nature in the tradition of Mark Twain and H....

Gore Vidal (1925-2012): He Did It His Way (And Loved Every Minute)

Jesse Kornbluth | Posted 08.01.2012 | Books
Jesse Kornbluth

Vidal had no self-doubt. He used his legendary intellect in the service of opinions that drew blood. Feuds thrilled him. And he never lost the swagger that comes from knowing that -- at least in his youth -- he was a stunner. Want a guided tour?

Gore Vidal Dead At 86

AP | HILLEL ITALIE | Posted 09.30.2012 | Books

In a world more to his liking, Gore Vidal might have been president, or even king. He had an aristocrat's bearing – tall, handsome and composed ...

A Vote for The Best Man

Joe Peyronnin | Posted 09.10.2012 | Home
Joe Peyronnin

The Best Man depicts a time when presidential conventions were brokered through backroom deals as delegates were swapped for political favors. Today, conventions have become highly scripted coronation ceremonies, just short of political infomercials.

Books You Hold in Your Hand

James A. Fragale | Posted 06.26.2012 | Books
James A. Fragale

While he was bartending a Hollywood party, Lucille Ball sashays in and slaps Scotty Bowers in the face. (Bowers matchmaker-ed for Desi Arnaz). One wonders why he wasn't hit more often. On the other hand, I, for one, would like to shake his hand.

Mike, Me and a Final Coincindence

Reese Schonfeld | Posted 06.17.2012 | Media
Reese Schonfeld

About Mike, I have only one more tale to tell, and it happened by pure coincidence. Mike Wallace was always a ladies man.

The Best Man: Gore Vidal's Patriot Act

Regina Weinreich | Posted 06.10.2012 | Home
Regina Weinreich

Sadly as Americans sort out the values of the real candidates, The Best Man is a reminder that the worst man will have a chance to triumph, and the best may only be a shadow of our highest ideals.

The Best Man: Democracy in Action

Wilborn Hampton | Posted 06.02.2012 | Home
Wilborn Hampton

When Gore Vidal's The Best Man opened in 1960, JFK and LBJ were slugging it out for the Democratic presidential nomination. Half a century later, Michael Wilson's riveting revival is a timely reminder that in politics, the more things change the more they stay the same.

Gore Vidal's The Best Man: Redux

Rochelle Jewel Shapiro | Posted 05.12.2012 | Entertainment
Rochelle Jewel Shapiro

Will Russell, who believes that personal smears shouldn't be used in politics, resort to his opponent's tactics in order to win? There's a chance that most of you already know the answer because The Best Man was also a 1964 movie starring Henry Fonda, Cliff Robertson, and Lee Tracy.