THE BLOG

Top 100 Most Social CIOs on Twitter 2016

04/25/2016 11:51 am ET | Updated Apr 25, 2016

2016-04-23-1461444919-6279096-social2016cioimage.png

There is no better time than now to be a chief information officer (CIO). 2016 is the year of the connected customer and an opportunity for CIOs to help their companies learn more about and engage with their customers in a whole new way. Every business is a technology business and CIOs are best positioned to leverage innovation to help their companies grow, while delighting customers and employees. The evolving role of information technology (IT) organizations has created an unprecedented opportunity for CIOs to lead digital business transformation initiatives within companies of all sizes, in all industries. I also believe that CIOs who drive successful digital transformation are best suited to win CEO jobs.

In a 2016 State of IT research report, digital trends like mobile customer facing and productivity apps, social networking, cloud computing, data science, cybersecurity were shaking up traditional IT strategy and driving a need for more collaborative and customer-focused leadership roles in IT. In order to successfully drive company-wide transformation, successful CIOs are collaborative, accessible and demonstrate the ability to influence their organizations, customer and business partners by being accessible, informed and role model agents of change.

One common characteristic of extraordinary CIOs is that they are active and passionate social networkers. These CIOs frequently use public social networks like Twitter, LinkedIn and blogging platforms to share their points of view. Many of these CIOs are work behind the scenes to mentor and promote thought leadership and group collaboration. These social CIOs are inspiring technology and business leaders to actively drive digital transformation for the betterment of their employees, customers and business partners.

I have complied a list of 100 social CIOs who consistently demonstrate their willingness to be active on Twitter. I use several factors to develop this list including frequency of use, size of network, quality of content, share of voice data and my own experience with CIOs. In addition, for the first time this year, I consulted with a social influence expert and thought leader Marshall Kirkpatrick, co-founder Little Bird (@GetLittleBird), in order to further validate the CIO list. Marshall is a brilliant researcher and provided fantastic input towards this project.

Please join me by congratulations the 2016 most social CIOs on Twitter. I encourage you to follow each of these wonderful executives on Twitter. I also welcome your suggestions regarding other social CIOs that should be recognized for their willingness to actively engage on Twitter.

  1. Dr. David A. Bray, FCC - @fcc_cio

  • Kim Stevenson, Intel - @kimsstevenson
  • Joanna Young, Michigan State University - @jcycio
  • Oliver Bussmann - @obussmann
  • Robert Schmidt, California Office of Technology Services - @ambassadorcio
  • Jonathan Reichental, City of Palo Alto, California - @reichental
  • Tim Crawford, AVOA - @tcrawford
  • David Chou, Healthcare CIO - @dchou1107
  • Jay Ferro, American Cancer Society - @jayferro
  • Ramon Baez, HPE - @RamonFBaez
  • Mike D. Kail, Cybric - @mdkail
  • Steve Groves, GoodLife Fitness - @steveatgoodlife
  • Adriana Karaboutis, Biogen - @andikaraboutis
  • Stephen Landry, Seton Hall University - @landryst
  • Will Lassalle, JLS Tech - @wlassalle
  • Miguel A. Gamino Jr., City of San Francisco - @sfcitycio
  • Michelle Mckenna-Doyle, NFL - @nflcio
  • Ben Haines, Yahoo - @bhaines0
  • Andrew Wilson, Accenture - @andrewxwilson
  • Diane Doersch, Green Bay Area Public Schools - @doerdi
  • Adam L Stanley, Cushman and Wakefield - @ALSWharton
  • Stephen diFilipo - @S_dF
  • Jason Smylie, Capriotti's - @capriottisjason
  • Rachel Wente-Chaney, High Desert Education Service District - @rwentechaney
  • John L. Shea - @johnlshea
  • Brenda Cooper - @brendacooper
  • Steven G. Snyder - @stevengsnyder
  • Dr. Gaurav Pradhan - @DrGPradhan
  • William Caraher, von Briesen & Roper - @williamcaraher
  • Matt Busigin, Hover Networks - @mbusigin
  • David Thompson, Western Union - @westernunioncio
  • Gerri M. Fickinger, Starbucks - @GMFlickinger
  • Isaac Sacolick - @nyike
  • Steve Downs, RWJF - @stephenjdowns
  • Melissa Woo, Stony Brook University - @mzyw
  • Andy Blumenthal, U.S. Department of State - @totalcio
  • Neil Pearce, Travis Perkins - @neiljpearce
  • Sabine Everaet, Coca Cola Company - @s_everaet
  • Jim Fowler, GE - @jimfowler
  • Michael Berman - @amichaelberman
  • Victor Fetter - @vpfetter
  • Scott Fenton, Wind River Systems - @sdfenton
  • Christian McMhahon - @christianMcM
  • Kelly Walsh - @emergingedtech
  • Michael Skaff - @mskaff
  • Richard Corbridge - @r1chardatron
  • Will Weider - @candidCIO
  • Stuart Appley, CBRE GWS - @sappley
  • Kevin Behr - @kevinbehr
  • Vince Kellen, University of Kentucky - @vkellen
  • Theresa Rowe, Oakland University - @oucio
  • Paul Slot - @tri4ever
  • Mark W. Carbone, Waterloo Region DSB - @markwcarbone
  • Susan Kellogg, UNC Chapel Hill - @susankellog
  • Bruce Maas, University of Wisconsin - @uwmadisoncio
  • Brett Bobley, NEH - @brettbobley
  • Dr. Alissa Johnson - @dralissajay
  • Ferdinand Kobelt, Swiss Federal Department of Defense - @ferdinandkobelt
  • Bob Egan, @bobegan
  • Cynthia Stoddard, NetApp - @stoddardCA
  • Tom Laplante - @tomlap
  • Paige Francis, Fairfield University - @fairfieldcio
  • Adam L. Stanley - @alswharton
  • Dr. Abouelenein - @cio_baz
  • Nigel Fortlage - @nfortlage
  • Jonathan Feldman - @_jfeldman
  • Sheila Jordan, Symantec - @sheilajordan90
  • Peter Campbell, Legal Services Corp - @peterscampbell
  • Stephen lamb - @see_eye_oh
  • Mark Brewer - @brewerma
  • Eric Egnet, MSI Global Talent Solutions- @intheknowCIO
  • Giancarlo Gonzalez - @giangonz
  • Ashwin Ram - @ashwinram
  • Fernando Thompson - @thompsonfer
  • Rachel Clemmons, Davidson College - @rclemmons
  • Steven VanRoekel - @stevenvDC
  • Paul Coby, John Lewis - @paulcoby
  • Edgardo Donovan - @eddiedonovan
  • Lisa Davis, Intel - @LisaM_Davis
  • John Halamka, BIDMC, Harvard Medical School - @jhalamka
  • Jesse Lubinsky, NY Tech Ed - @jlubinsky
  • Lee Congdon - @lcongdon
  • G. Ravishanker, Wellesley College - @ravishan
  • Richard Corbridge - @r1chardatron
  • Alan Stukalsky, Randstad - @stukalsky
  • Tom Andriola, University of California - @andriola_UC
  • Chantal Tomlinson, World Vision - @chantal_c
  • Andrew Abboud - @aabboud
  • Bryan M. Sastokas, Long Beach, CA - @bsastokas
  • Mary Sobiechowski - @msobie
  • Adam Gerrard - @cio_adam
  • Andre Thomas - @_andrethomas_
  • Beth Miblock, City of Detroit - @detroitcio
  • Sue Schade, University Hospitals, Cleveland - @sgschade
  • Brian Rellinger, Ohio Wesleyan University - @rellinb
  • Kevin More, May Institute - @kmmore
  • Brian Miller - @suydam
  • Ellen Yu Borkowski, Union College NY - @eyb
  • Thomas Danford - @tdanford
  • Kevin Mazur, @kevin_m
  • Comments

    CONVERSATIONS