Huffpost Technology
THE BLOG

Featuring fresh takes and real-time analysis from HuffPost's signature lineup of contributors

Vala Afshar Headshot

The 50 Most Social CIOs on Twitter (and 20 Rising Stars)

Posted: Updated:
TWITTER CHILD ABUSE
Alamy
Print

In one of my previous Huffington Post blogs, I listed the top 100 business, leadership and technology must-follow Twitter accounts. I was delighted to see the list shared by thousands across all of the major social networks. I was also pleased to hear from one particular social CIO, SAP's CIO Oliver Bussmann (Twitter: @SAPCIO), who astutely noted that the list of 100 did not include a single CIO. In a recent video interview with Byte (Twitter: @byte), Bussmann talks about the importance of mobility and social collaboration in business. Bussmann clearly stated the importance of collaboration in business and his active involvement with Twitter, with the purpose to connect with customers and other industry leaders. Based on Bussmann's comments, I decided that I needed to research and identify the most social CIOs on Twitter.

A Wall Street Journal post written by Michael Krigsman (Twitter: @mkrigsman), titled "Social Media for the Innovative CIO," noted that "social media can enrich your personal and professional lives while providing value to users and your company." The post also noted that "participating in social media requires balancing time, politics and security against the unique value that engagement can bring." SAP's CIO Bussmann (Twitter: @SAPCIO) shared his four step approach to social collaboration and Ben Haines (Twitter: @bhaines0), CIO of Pabst Brewing Co. said the greatest value of social media was access to other thought leaders. Krigsman also published another CIO focused WSJ post where he emphasize the importance of promoting social business transformation based on interviews with social CIO business leaders like Kim Stevenson, CIO of Intel (Twitter: @KimsStevenson), and Stephen Lamb, CIO of the British Columbia Institute of Technology (Twitter: @SEE_EYE-OH).

All four CIOs noted above are on our top 50 most social CIOs on Twitter.

In a brilliantly written, must read post by Dion Hinchcliffe (Twitter: @dhinchliffe), Mr. Hinchclilffe asked: "Is it time for C-level social media executive?" and then demonstrated that CIOs, CCOs and other executives must recognize that being strategic and modernizing engagements means an emphasis on social media and enterprise collaboration. The post concluded with a recommendation for companies to consider a C-level social media executive. In my view, the post did a wonderful job of illustrating the absolute need for social executives in business.

Now to our most social CIOs on Twitter list. Before I share the list below I would like to share a bit about my selection criteria. I used a weighted sum algorithm that included multiple parameters including the combination of Klout scores, Kred scores, outreach scores and number of followers. I also looked at explicit listing of CIO and/or IT operational management responsibilities in the Twitter biographies. I had a minimum threshold for each of the parameters listed above. I doubled checked my social CIOs on Twitter list with previously published 'social CIO' lists as a reference point. Most of the CIOs listed in previous posts did not pass my entrance criteria. In addition, I am connected to some of these CIOs and I know they are social. These CIOs produce good and frequent content and are engaging. Since my Top-50 cut-off minimum thresholds -- for example: minimum of 500 Twitter followers -- excluded some amazing social CIO rising stars, I decided to include a rising stars section with 20 more social CIOs.

Top 50 CIOs on Twitter: [Name -- Company, Twitter Alias]

  1. Oliver Bussmann -- SAP, @sapcio
  2. Jason Smylie -- Capriotti's Sandwich Shop, @capriottisjason
  3. Jonathan Reichental -- City of Palo Alto, CA, @Reichental
  4. Peter Yared -- CBS Interactive, @peteryared
  5. Mike Kail -- Netflix, @mdkail
  6. Brenda Cooper -- City of Kirkland, WA, @brendacooper
  7. Ben Grey -- Oak Lawn-Hometown District 123, IL, @bengrey
  8. John Halamka -- Beth Isreal Deaconess, @jhalamka
  9. Susan Bearden -- Holy Trinity Episcopal Academy, @s_bearden
  10. Kelly Walsh -- College of Westchester, @EmergingEdTech
  11. Casey Coleman -- General Services Administration, @caseycoleman
  12. Victor Fetter -- LPL Financial, @vpfetter
  13. Joe Palmer -- Jefferson County, CO, @CIOJoe
  14. Phil Komarny -- Seton Hill University, @PhilKomarny
  15. Brett Bobley -- National Endowment for the Humanities, @brettbobley
  16. Rachel Wente--Chaney -- High Desert Education Service District, OR, @rwentechaney
  17. Ben Haines -- Pabst Brewing Co., @bhaines0
  18. Steven VanRoekel -- Executive Office of the President, @stevenvDC
  19. Aaron Batalion -- Livingsocial.com, @abatalion
  20. Dan Webber -- Prime Holdings BV, @SocialDanWebber
  21. Stephen diFilipo -- Cecil College, @S_dF
  22. Paul Slot -- KPN Corporate Market, @Tri4Ever
  23. Vivek Kundra -- Salesforce.com , @VivekKundra
  24. Sonny Hashmi -- Deputy Chief Information Officer, GSA, @sonny_h
  25. Michael Skaff -- LesConcierges, @mskaff
  26. Adam Gerrard -- LateRooms group, @CIO_Adam
  27. Linda Cureton -- NASA/Goddard Space Flight Center, @curetonl
  28. Mark Brewer -- Seagate Technology, @brewerma
  29. Jos Creese -- Hampshire, @JosCreese
  30. Will Weider -- Ministry Health Care, @CandidCIO
  31. John David Son -- Naperville 203 School District, IL, @JDSCIO
  32. Kim Stevenson -- Intel Corporation, @Kimsstevenson
  33. Brian Miller -- Davenport University, @suydam
  34. Paul Coby -- CIO and Head of BA Services at British Airways, @PaulCoby
  35. Drex DeFord -- Steward Health Care, @drexdeford
  36. David Sullivan -- City of Norfolk, VA, @ciophoto
  37. Glenn Lanteigne -- South West LHIN, @GlennLanteigne
  38. Stephen Lamb -- British Columbia Institute of Technology, @SEE_EYE_OH
  39. Laurent Maumet -- SOITEC, @lmau
  40. Steve Huffman -- Memorial Health System of South Bend, @SteveHuffmanCIO
  41. Brian Nettles -- Sigma Solutions, Inc, @7bn
  42. Ganesan Ravishanker -- Wellesley University, @ravishan
  43. Jon Walton -- City of San Francisco, CA, @SFCityCIO
  44. Paul Dale -- ITV, @paulcdale
  45. Bruce Maas -- University of Wisconsin, @uwmadisonCIO
  46. Sean O'Donoghue -- DreamWorks Animation, @seanwod
  47. Susan Kellogg -- Kenan-Flagler Businss School, UNC, @susankellogg
  48. Thabo Ndlela -- Sun International, @ThaboNdlela
  49. Steve Spot -- Alarm New England , @SteveSpott
  50. Kelly Flanagan -- BYU, @kelflanagan

20 Rising Star CIOs on Twitter (Name -- Company, Twitter Alias)

  1. Baz Abouelenein -- Kansas City Kansas Community College, @CIO_Baz
  2. A. Michael Berman -- California State University, Channel Islands, @amichaelberman
  3. Raechelle Clemmons -- St. Norbert University, @rclemmons
  4. Sabine Everaet -- Coca-Cola- Europe, @S_Everaet
  5. Scott Fenton -- Wind River Systems, @sdfenton
  6. Bill Greeves -- County of Roanoke, VA, @bgreeves
  7. David Hinson -- Hendrix College, @davidjhinson
  8. Rick Holgate -- Bureau of the ATF, @rickholgate
  9. Jeanette Horan -- IBM, @jeanettehoran
  10. Roxane Reynolds-Lair -- Fashion Institute of Design & Merchandising, @IBMiCiO
  11. Tom LaPlante -- Top Golf, @tomlap
  12. Ernest Lehmann -- Nicholas H. Noyes Memorial Hospital, @ernestlehmann
  13. John D. McMillen -- Graves County Schools, Kentucky, @ujdmc
  14. Brian Nettles -- Sigma Solutions, Inc, @7bn
  15. Dan Petlon -- Enterasys, @DanPetlon
  16. Sukumar Rajagopal -- Cognizant Technology Solutions, @rsukumar
  17. Bill Schrier -- (former)City of Seattle, WA, @billschrier
  18. Wayne Shurts -- Sysco, @wayneshurts
  19. Trad Robinson -- SC School for the Deaf and Blind, @TradRobinson
  20. Joanna Young -- University of New Hampshire, @unhcio

I encourage you to connect with this amazing group of CIOs so that you can learn about the latest technology trends and top of mind initiatives in IT. I would also love to hear about CIOs that should be on this list.

From Our Partners