05/25/2010 05:12 am ET Updated May 25, 2011

Lost Booker Prize Shortlist Announced: Books That Should Have Won In 1970

J. G. Farrell and Muriel Spark were among the authors shortlisted Thursday for an unusual take on Britain's most prestigious literary award, the Booker Prize.

The Lost Booker Prize -- other contenders for which include Patrick White and Nina Bawden -- is being awarded for books from 1970 which missed out the first time around because of a rule change in 1971.

Read more on AFP