06/13/2010 05:12 am ET Updated May 25, 2011

Rana Dasgupta Wins Prestigious Commonwealth Prize For 'Solo'

On the day when a band of former winners including AS Byatt, Louis de Bernières and Andrea Levy called for governments around the world to "find new ways to support literacy", and hoped that this award would help, the British writer Rana Dasgupta has won the 2010 Commonwealth Writers' prize with his novel of two halves, Solo. The Australian writer Glenda Guest has won the Best First Novel award with Siddon Rock.