06/12/2012 02:59 pm ET Updated Jun 12, 2012

Edward R. Murrow Awards 2012: All Broadcast Networks Win, NBC Takes Top Prize

The Radio Television Digital News Association (RTDNA) announced the winners of the 2012 Edward R. Murrow Awards on Tuesday.

All the broadcast networks were recognized. ABC News won five total Murrow awards, three of which which were from broadcast reports. The network's evening broadcast, "World News with Diane Sawyer" won in the "Reporting Hard News" category for weekend anchor David Muir's reports from Somalia last year titled, "A Cry For Help: Famine in Somalia."

The network also won in the "Breaking News" category for its coverage of the killing of Osama bin Laden. ABC News won in the "Continuing Coverage" category for its ongoing reports on Rep. Gabrielle Giffords.

CBS News won two awards. The network took home the "Feature Reporting" award for Anderson Cooper's "60 Minutes" story titled, "The Gardens of the Queen." CBS News also won in the "Investigative Reporting" category for a "CBS Evening News" report by investigative correspondent Sharyl Attkisson titled, "Gunwalker."

NBC News took home the Murrow Awards' top prize in "Overall Excellence" for the fourth consecutive year. The network's nightly broadcast "Nightly News" won in the "Newscast" category for its coverage of the tornados that ripped across the south in April 2011. "TODAY" also won in the "Writing" category for its story, "American Story with Bob Dotson."

Winners will be presented with their awards at the RTDNA Awards Dinner in New York City on October 8, 2012.



ABC News Journalists