08/13/2012 09:46 am ET Updated Aug 13, 2012

'The Coup' Announce Their Upcoming Album 'Sorry To Bother You' And Premiere 'Magic Clap' (LISTEN)

Today, the political hip-hop group from Oakland, California known as The Coup, announce the upcoming release of their newest album Sorry To Bother You , which comes out on October 30. The album is the long-awaited follow up to their critically acclaimed 2006 album Pick A Better Weapon, and features an array of special guest artists including Das Racist, Anti-Flag, and Jolie Holland.

The Coup, known for their fiery and outspoken political views, formed in 1990 with the three emcees: Boots Riley, E-Roc, and DJ Pam the Funktress. E-Roc left the group a few years ago, so now Riley performs with a new band.

Riley infuses his lyrics with slick political commentary and carries out full scale political conversations with his fans via Twitter. Earlier this month, Riley was the centerpiece of an article about the Occupy Movement’s place in Oakland and the legacy of resistance there. It's no surprise, then, that this new album carries the same strong political message that The Coup has embodied through the years. The opening track, “Magic Clap," mirrors the album itself -- an exploration of mid-Seventies punk with smooth Motown roots and a hip hop beat.

“The meaning of the song [Magic Clap] can be found in the last line, ‘When we slap back, that’s the magic clap.’ It’s about everything that leads up to that moment when people decide to fight back, when thought leads to action,” Riley noted in the press release.

“Magic Clap" is absolutely contagious. Listen to it here, and let us know what you think in the comments section below.

Correction: An earlier version of this article stated that DJ Pam the Funktress had left the group. She still performs locally with The Coup. We regret the error.