03/19/2013 03:58 pm ET Updated Mar 20, 2013

Rod Stewart's 'Time' Will Be The Artist's First Album Of New Material In Decades

Veteran musician Rod Stewart is set to release his first album of new material in almost 20 years. Titled "Time," the album is due out from Capitol Records and features 12 original tracks. A deluxe edition of "Time," available for purchase from iTunes, includes three bonus tracks.

While Stewart has released various albums over the past two decades, including holiday collections and American songbook compilations, "Time" will be Stewart's return to original music.

"Ideas for lyrics were piling up in my head," Stewart said in a statement. "Next thing I knew, I had a song called ‘It’s Over’ about divorce and separation. And now I was getting up in the middle of the night and scrambling for a pen to write things down, which has never happened to me. I finished seven or eight songs very quickly and I still wasn’t done and it became apparent that I would eventually have a whole album of material to record, which had never happened before.”

Stewart is releasing two singles ahead of the album's release. "She Makes Me Happy" hits airwaves on Tuesday, while "Finest Woman" will be released on April 8. "Time" hits stores on May 7.

Check out the tracklisting for "Time" below:

  1. "She Makes Me Happy"
  2. "Can't Stop Me Now"
  3. "It's Over"
  4. "Brighton Beach"
  5. "Beautiful Morning"
  6. "Live The Life"
  7. "Finest Woman"
  8. "Time"
  9. "Picture In A Frame"
  10. "Sexual Religion"
  11. "Make Love To Me Tonight"
  12. "Pure Love"
Rod Stewart