06/07/2013 11:23 am ET Updated Jul 12, 2013

Umpires Blow Two Calls In One Play During Padres-Rockies (VIDEO)

Umpires blowing seemingly easy calls has been almost a topic du jour, but the crew working the Rockies-Padres game on Thursday night took it to a new level.

In the 12th inning with the score tied at five, the umpires appeared to blow two calls in one play. With one out and the bases loaded, Padres catcher Yasamani Grandal sent a chopped grounder up the third baseline. Rockies third baseman Nolan Arendo fielded the ball cleanly, stepped on third base for the force out, and then tossed it over to first in search of the double play.

Despite Grandal being a step behind the throw, first base ump Ed Hickox called him safe at first which allowed Chase Headley to score from third.

It gets worse. A second look at the play also indicates that the ball had already left Arendo's hand before his foot ever touched third base. But third base umpire Cory Blaser still called an out.

Because the play at third should have been called safe and the play at first should have been ruled an out, Headley would have scored anyways if the umpires made the correct calls.

The Padres went on to win 6-5.




PHOTOS: Best MLB Ballparks