03/26/2014 05:38 pm ET Updated Mar 26, 2014

BRICS Countries Extend Statement Of Support For Russian Participation In G20

ALEXANDER JOE via Getty Images

March 25 (UPI) -- Representatives from Brazil, Russia, India, China, and South Africa -- economies that comprise BRICS -- met in The Hague on Monday on the sidelines of the Nuclear Security Summit.

The BRICS minsters issued a joint statement Monday asserting that Russia should be allowed to participate in the Group of 20's next meeting in Australia in November. The statement was prompted after Australian Foreign Minister Julie Bishop suggested Russia would be barred from the summit.

Read more on UPI