02/28/2015 05:16 pm ET Updated Feb 28, 2015

Rand Paul Wins 2015 CPAC Straw Poll

Alex Wong via Getty Images

Kentucky Sen. Rand Paul (R) won the straw poll vote at the Conservative Political Action Conference on Saturday.

This is the third year in a row that the senator has won the straw poll at the conservative conference.

CPAC attendees have the opportunity to vote on their favored candidate for the Republican nomination for president. Also on the ballot were Wisconsin Gov. Scott Walker, former Texas Gov. Rick Perry, Sen. Ted Cruz (Texas), former Alaska Gov. Sarah Palin, Louisiana Gov. Bobby Jindal, former Florida Gov. Jeb Bush and others.

Walker came in second, just over 4 points behind Paul. The Wisconsin governor jumped 4 slots, up from sixth place in 2014.

Paul tweeted out thanks shortly after the results were released, going straight for the fundraising push:

The victory brings Paul one win closer to tying former presidential nominee Mitt Romney for most victories: Romney has four victories, winning the straw poll in 2007, 2008, 2009 and 2012. But Romney was the exception, not the rule, when he received the Republican nomination for president: Only three straw poll winners in the conference's 41 years have gone on to receive the nomination.

Paul delivered a speech at CPAC on Friday, taking jabs at Hillary Clinton and criticizing the National Security Agency's surveillance programs. His supporters walked out on Bush's speech later that afternoon while wearing "Stand With Rand" T-shirts.



CPAC 2015