CULTURE & ARTS
01/26/2016 09:57 am ET Updated Jun 01, 2017

10 Other Magical Books 'Harry Potter' Fans Should Read

You could re-read "The Goblet of Fire" for the umpteenth time, or, you could try something new.
HPMG

Inspired by J.K. Rowling’s occasional plot twists -- revealed on social media long after the series has satisfyingly concluded -- you’ve decided to re-read Harry Potter, swapping in a new pronunciation of “Voldermort,” or a new interpretation of Snape’s character.

Which is great! -- the first few times around.

But if you’ve got every sentence memorized as if they were lines from a beloved movie, it might be time to throw a few new magical reads in the mix. We've compiled a list of some of our favorite alternatives to Harry Potter's world of fantasy.

Random House

The High Mountains of Portugal by Yann Martel

The author of Life of Pi has already proven that he has a knack for infusing his stories with a bit of whimsy, without falling prey to the gimmicks those narrative tricks can lend themselves to. His newest book follows protagonist Tomás on a quest for a powerful artifact that echoes on centuries later. It’s a fast-paced adventure peopled by ghosts, chimps and brave souls.

Picador

Mr. Penumbra’s 24-Hour Bookstore by Robin Sloan

If your favorite spot in the wizarding world is Diagon Alley, Sloan’s novel about a mysterious shop that contains much more than meets the eye is worth exploring. Protagonist Clay Jannon stumbles into a job at the shop after many “days when [he] rarely touched paper,” working in a web-based company in San Fransisco. In a lovely ode to the wonders of print, the book fuses the metaphorical magic of books with real magic.

Harcourt Brace Jovanovich

If on a Winter’s Night a Traveller by Italo Calvino

Whether you long to experience the steampunk-ish magic of Platform 9 3/4, or simply delight in riddles and labyrinthine plots, you’ve got to read Calvino’s best-known novel, which is really more like several novels rolled into one big comedic maze. Ultimately, it’s about two readers who attempt to read the same story, but are repeatedly interrupted by printing errors, resulting in a disconnect between their interpretations.

Anchor Books

The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern

Fun fact: Morgenstern wrote her harried first draft of The Night Circus during NaNoWriMo, a feat that must’ve involved some kind of sorcery. Another fun fact: many of the sensual scenes were inspired by the hit interactive play “Sleep No More,” a production that appeals to anyone who’s ever craved magical treats. The story itself centers on star-crossed lovers who are fated to a magical duel.

Ember

Every Day by David Levithan

If you’re into Harry Potter because it harkens back to your early days of first discovering how great books can be, another YA book that employs fantastical elements might itch your scratch (or lightning bolt-shaped scar). Levithan crafts a magical character in “A,” a gender-neutral free spirit who hops from one body to another each morning after waking up.

Del Rey

This Census-Taker by China Miéville

You might not walk away from Miéville’s cryptic, beautifully written book with neatly packaged bits of wisdom, but you will get to experience a very imaginative world, filled with keys with strange powers, and bold, lonely and fearful children. The book’s narrator is like Harry in many ways, mostly because he doesn’t discover his own strength until he meets an empowering crew of misfits.

Riverhead

Mr. Fox by Helen Oyeyemi

Oyeyemi’s book, like Sloan’s, comments on the magic of storytelling. When a male writer’s muse, Mary, comes to life, the two navigate the travails of love in elaborate, tumultuous ways. Meanwhile, the man’s wife smells something fishy, and the author must choose between the drudgery that comes with real love and the whirlwind of his imagined fantasy. The effect is nothing short of enchanting.

Atavist Books

Sleep Donation by Karen Russell

The “magical realist” descriptor has been applied to Russell more than a few times, but this short book might better be classified as weird fiction or sci-fi. A huge organization called the Slumber Corps works to undo an insomnia pandemic by lending hours of sleep for those in need. If that doesn’t sound like Hogwartsian shenanigans, nothing does.

Vintage

1Q84 by Haruki Murakami

As Dumbledore once said, “The truth is a beautiful and terrible thing, and should therefore be treated with caution.” This would probably resonate with Murakami, who uses surreal scenes to illustrate emotional truths. In 1Q84, a traffic-dodging shortcut down an emergency escape lands protagonist Aomame in a universe that’s much like the one she comes from -- only slightly different. And that’s only the beginning.

Verso

Man Tiger by Eka Kurniawan

Everyone knows Sirius Black is the most beloved Harry Potter character, partly because of his scoundrel's attitude, and partly because he’s an Animagus -- a wizard who can turn into a scraggly dog whenever he pleases. The subject of Kurniawan’s Man Tiger can’t exactly morph into another species, but he does possess within him the spirit of a tiger.

HPMG

 

 

Also on HuffPost:

PHOTO GALLERY
10 Sci-Fi And Fantasy Books To Explore
CONVERSATIONS